What will you be doing tomorrow?

It is 26/11 tomorrow. This time last year Mumbai was under seige. Mumbaikars were living the kind of nightmare that one only imagines happens in action thrillers. But we had no John Rambo, or Arnold Schwarzenegger or Bruce Willis to take on the bad guys. We had police officers. Brave ones, who rushed to tackle the terrorists head on. We had a confused state machinery which did not know what hit them. We waited for the NSG to arrive. We stayed in our homes for three days, not knowing how long the seige would last. Or what would happen to the city. Or worse, if there were more to come. A handful of men held Mumbai hostage for three long days, and all we could do was headcounts and pray.

I began India Helps. All I wanted to do was reach out and help people who needed help. We did manage to do that.

What will I be doing tomorrow? I will be going about my daily routine. I will drop my child at school. I will go into office. I will work like I do everyday. And that to me is the best way I can deal with the anger…I havent broken. Mumbai hasnt broken. We will go on.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What will you be doing tomorrow?

  1. Rani says:

    True. The pain and anger hasn’t died, and I guess it never will. But you are right in saying tomorrow will b jus another day, and we shall continue to live like its tomorrow and not yesterday.

    I quite hate the media hype over ‘d day’ dats been goin on… why do they talk to families of victims or survivors just now? when its one year to the story? why cudnt they be as considerate as they are showin to be any other day of this year? or for that matter, all through the year? Why wait for 1 whole year. and den talk abt it all over again?
    I completely fail to understand how the media works…

    The media is I am sad to say, being an ex journalist, absolutely lazy. I have had experiences where I have been called a ‘he’ after giving a telephonic interview, had some random stuff attributed to me in print, stuff I’ve never said at all, and where I have taken the trouble to answer a questionnaire via email, had quotes lifted off the India Help blog….
    Very few of the journalists today actually research, and take time over any story. Its all sensationalising that works thats why the hype over 26/11.

    Like

Leave a Reply

