Because it is the party season…

Here’s what I found in my inbox. From Wills Lifestyle. It is called the Wills Lifestyle Signature Line. The designers?  JJ Valaya, Rohit Bal, Satya Paul, Rina Dhaka, Ranna Gill, Shantanu-Nikhil, Rajesh Pratap Singh and Rohit Gandhi-Rahul Khanna. The price points? Rs 3000 to Rs 15,000. The temptation to run out shrieking to pick up one right now, credit card maxed out limite be damned? Immediate.

On closer scanning though, I dont think I would wear any. These are all designed for stick insects. And well, I am a woman with, er, womanly attributes. It would be nice if designers got it into their heads to design party wear for women like me who want all parts of their body to be covered, the drape to camouflage the little tummy that sticks determindedly out, the flare to do nice things with visual perspective and create the illusion of a waist, the length till the ankles for modesty (what, what, I’m a dinosaur, remember, I dont do short dresses!).  Maybe I should just stick to sarees.

If I was pushed into any of these, twould be the black and white crinkled Rina Dhaka up left. Nice drape, one shoulder covered, very Grecian, cinched waist for definition and in my favourite colour of all times. I would lay off the jewellery though. A dress this dramatic doesnt need overload with chunky jewellery to kill it.

Which one would you choose?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Because it is the party season…

  1. Gigi says:

    The black one is the best – I agree, the jewelry is uncalled for.

    That said, I have something similar to the blue one – band slightly higher, classic empire waist. The color is black. Admittedly I was 10kg lighter when I wore it last before I got pregnant – but I was never skinny. with the right control top underwear/shapewear it works!

    Like

  2. Violet says:

    I like the wine red in the first pic and the backless blue in the second. I agree they are all next to sticks, but please don’t call them insects. I am one of those and the sad part is, it is not intentional 😦

    Like

  3. Desi Ninja says:

    yes yes… whatever you said is correct. 😐

    (this is my best attempt to understand fashion… how do u get it anyway?)

    Like

  4. shilpadesh says:

    I like the black one. I also think the first blue one(Ranna Gil) will look good. If you don’t like a sleevelessness it can always be covered up by a teeny jacket/sweater! I think you will look good in #1. It has smallish pleats at the waist, that should cover a little tummy. I bought a black v-neck party dress last week, and it is a-line with teeny pleats in the front, and hits right at the knee. I like it….I might do a post on it soon!

    Like

  5. shilpadesh says:

    And I agree with Gigi, get some shapewear and see that tummy vanish!

    Like

  6. soulmate says:

    I like the wine red in the first pic.. Though I am not as slim as that model, but then what the heck.. who cares.. I still want to wear it.. 😀

    Like

  7. Namrata says:

    I loved the Blue one … (in the first Pic) nice with the bold jewelery .. its got nice pleats to cover up the tummy .. with shades of black it make one look slimmer. The Dark blue really looks royal ….

    I wished Wills Lifestyle had better online shopping websites for its customers….

    Like

  8. CA says:

    For me its the wine red one .. and I am a stick insect. Have never tried to be one … just happened to be.
    But I must admit, for my life I cannot carry any of these on me 😦 I am from the dinosaur era as well wanting to be fully covered.

    Like

  9. Gypsy Girl says:

    With my post pregnancy weight there’s no way i’ll fit into any of these!! But i like the wine red one the best!

    Like

  10. Kiran Manral says:

    Gypsy Girl: It will all go. The baby will whoosh it all out of you, give her a chance. And then managing two of them will be exercise enough dont you worry. And yes, the wine red is YOUR colour. Would suit you. You are so cheerful…

    Like

  11. Suki says:

    Am yet to figure out how 5-foot zero, well-endowed Indians pull off dresses. Jeans and tees till I get an answer to this one!

    Like

  12. stu says:

    The first one, the blue thing. Ooh so pretty!

    Like

  13. maggie roper says:

    i just luv the violet one…

    Like

Leave a Reply

