And 2009 draws to a close…

This has been a good year for me. Seriously. I kid you not. It did seem horrible while I was going through it. But I know things can only get better henceforth. I’ve exorcised some demons. I’ve had a cleansing done of my environs. Toxins have been eliminated. Battled with weight issues and won. And realised all my weight issues were in my head. And yes, all the mirrors in the house were so warped. I tell you. I have the perfect figure, and dont you dare tell me otherwise. There, I’ve stuck my fingers in my ears and I’m not listening. At all.

I’ve learnt some lessons I needed learning. Prime among them being that the world economy will function even if I stop shopping. And that new clothes and bags and shoes dont necessarily make you feel better or make the monsters go away. They just create more monsters when the credit card bill comes in at the end of the month. And so now, I’ve taken to heart the wise words uttered by Parul. Instead of buying me a collection of junk, I’m going to save up for the good stuff. Will buy one good, knock your teeth out bag a year. Which will be heirloom items. Which I can pass on to, well, since I dont have a daughter, maybe a daughter in law, if she is nice to me when I dont have all my teeth. Or the son, if he is so inclined to carry them handbags. I dont know. Or maybe he can buy his own handbags.

Thats my resolution for the forthcoming year. To buy my dream bag. My IT bag. As in it. Not Information Technology. Or to get it bought for me. Which seems more possible given that I would probably be able to afford a wallet with the funds currently parked in my account. I’m taking heart from The Secret which I read recently. I am visualising myself holding my dream bag, stuffing it to bursting point with tissues, and sunblock, and make up, and sunglasses, and cleaning out the growing life forms within, which come from constant use. I save the thinking about parking spaces for my driver.

I’m also going to up the ante on saying no. I’m going to practice saying it in the mirror like I mean it. “No”. Thats it. No apologies, no explanations. And no scurrying after folks wringing my hands convinced they hate me because I said no. And no saying yes, just to avoid displeasing other folk. Arrggggh. I also need to invest in a spine of steel.

I’m also going to add some colour to my wardrobe. The all goth look is kind of draining when one crosses the late 30s. The skin is already drained of all colour. The eyes are sunken. And only generous lashings of foundation and face compact and blusher and such like bring me into the world of the living. If I need to have people stop jumping back in startled horror when the lifts open to reveal me, I need to buy clothes in a colour other than black. Yes, at last count 40 black full sleeved high necked tshirts have been stacked in a pile on shelf one. I’ve tucked away my broomstick in the closet too. Pinks, yellows, oranges and reds, here I come.

Seriously though, here are my resolutions for the New Year:

To thank the Lord for all I have every single day of the year.

To keep my body fit and well nourished.

To not say anything if I cant say anything good about a person.

To stay away from toxic folk.

To spend more time reading funny books and watching comedies.

To do one thing I enjoy every single day.

To hug my child more often and tell my husband I love him as much as I can.

To make more time than I do for my mother.

To come to terms with the fact that I might not be the perfect cook, the perfect daughter in law, the perfect mother, the perfect wife, the perfect friend, but I am the perfect me. And I will celebrate that.

What are your resolutions for the new year?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And 2009 draws to a close…

  1. Varsha says:

    Kiran,
    Nice post as always.:)
    Wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous new year.

    -Varsha

    Thank you Varsha.

    Like

  2. rekha says:

    Hi Kiran, Wishing you a very happy new year. And yes, they are wonderful resolutions, keep going !! take care, Rekha.

    Have a great year Rekha.

    Like

  3. Mumbai Diva says:

    Wish you a very, very happy new year.

    Thank you so much…wish you the same.

    Like

  4. shilpadesh says:

    Happy New Year Kiran.

    Thank you shilpa

    Like

  5. eep says:

    i’m stealing your resolutions! happy new year!

    Wish you the same.

    Like

  6. dipali says:

    What awesome resolutions, Kiran! All the best for the coming year.

    Thank you dipali, wish you the same.

    Like

  7. nidhi says:

    love the last bit (para) of the post!!!
    Happy New Year!!

    Thank you nidhi, wish you the same.

    Like

  8. Vie Chic says:

    loved the post so much! love you too! mwah!
    have a great new year! success to you and all dear to you!

    Thank you vie..

    Like

  9. sush says:

    what is your IT bag?

    LV Alma or Trevi. The Birkin. And of all things, the Tods Dok bag in matt gold.

    Like

Leave a Reply

