Did you run?

At the Mumbai Marathon? Were you out there, wearing your best running gear, rubbing shoulders with the celebrities, enjoying the entire spirit of the event? Did I run? Do you even need to ask?

Of course not. I never run in a public situation. Unless I have a bus or a train to catch. Of which I have had neither to catch in a long while. I walk. In stately fashion. Hoping I dont trip myself up. Like any person who has zero athletic abilities, my interest in the marathon is a bit voyeuristic. For one I admire all the buff folks out there in their sports wear running for a cause.

Among the non so buff people (read the aam junta) 

More than 22,000 people were running the 6 kilometre of the dream run this year. A total of 38,000 people participated in the Marathon this year.

There was a lot of celebrity around, from the ones who were running to support a deserving charity. To the ones who were there to be photographed.

Women in the crowd had enough cause to faint with Akshay Kumar and John Abraham as eye candy. For the men, Vidya Balan and Genelia and Gul Panag and Amrita Rao provided a sight for sore eyes. I am told by the ones who ran, that the marathon gets better and better every year, and that I should seriously participate to be part of the spirit of Mumbai.

I am a girl who needs her sleep. I will egg the runners on by positive thinking and high frequency thoughtwaves transmitted via the television set.

This is what really scares me in a crowd situation of over 38,000 folk running.

Guess who would have needed that saline drip had she landed there?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did you run?

  1. kenny says:

    Kiran!
    My calves started cramping after my run. I almost went to the medical tent to get some pain spray. But decided to fight it out the usual way instead (i.e. by ignoring it).
    It was fun. I only saw Milind Soman. None of the other celebs..:(

    You brave girl you…bet Milind Soman was enough eye candy for a day 😉

    Like

  2. Doli says:

    You’ve been tagged at my blog magicofpages.blogspot.com 🙂

    Thank you. Have done said tag.

    Like

  3. Gigi says:

    Kudos to the people who complete it. I can’t even run half marathon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

