Of meeting childhood icons

I was a little chit of a girl when Qurbani was released. All I know of the film from those days was the cassette which I put into my ‘foreign’ Sony player and listened to. And a song, Aap Jaisa Koi, immediately grabbed my attention. It was funky, different and had a je ne sais quoi quality to it which grabbed my poor western music deprived ear. The singer was a cute teen in pigtails and overalls called Nazia Hassan, and the composer was a long haired guy called Biddu. An Indian from Bangalore, now settled in the UK after hitchhiking there. Composed music for greats like Tina Charles and more. And yes, I always got weak kneed at long haired men with deep voices. It’s part of my genetic programming.

I heard more of Biddu as I grew. He came out with an album called Disco Deewane with Nazia Hassan and her brother Zoyeb. He did more music for India. Shweta Shetty’s Johnny Joker, Alisha Chinai’s Made in India. Music for movies like Star. Lots more that I dont have on the tip of my typing fingers right now. But the music was always foot tapping and acutely dance-able.

It is a bit scary when people who have been big when you were young and impressionable write autobiographies, and when you trill to your nieces about them, you realise they have absolutely no clue who you are talking about. Like you have to go google up a creature called Lady Ga Ga and spend a furrowed moment figuring out if this is male, female or hermaphrodite and concluding that the last option is probably the most probable.

It hits you that you are now officially over the hill, and ready to hang up your dancing shoes and anyway, the last time you danced your heart out was over eight years ago, and therefore you are automatically disqualified from expressing any coherent opinion on current standards of music, except to qualify it as it definitely is, as incoherent noise.

So I meet Biddu tomorrow for a feature I am to be writing on him. And I’m terribly excited because I loved his music. I grew up to it. And yes, I need to thank him for all the times I listened to Disco Deewane on a loop.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Of meeting childhood icons

  1. shruti says:

    Awesome… I loved Disco Deewane , Johnny Jhonny Joker, made in india .. n of course Aap Jaisa Koi!!!
    🙂 Pass on some love to biddu from my side too!!

    🙂

    Like

  2. girish says:

    Biddu was such a huge name in our time! I am sure you are the envy of his many many fans who read this blog. Please post a link to the article so we can catch up on the latest in Biddu’s life. And tell him he and his brand of music are much missed esp. by our generation!

    I will.

    Like

  3. anna says:

    im a fan too…from his “lone trojan” days at venice at hotel astoria!

    Met him. He’s a genuine old fashioned nice guy.

    Like

  4. Sonia says:

    OMG!! As I read your blog, the songs played in my mind – Aap jaisa koi, then Disco Diwaney :)))) Awesome Kiran! Could you post a link to your interview here?

    I will.

    Like

  5. Rajlakshmi says:

    that supeb… even i love disco deewane… he was an icon when I was young… and I used to dance to his tunes…
    the post made me nostalgic…
    LOLzzz on lady gaga part… i still dnt knw what she is… ya maybe the last option…

    🙂

    Like

  6. Deej says:

    I am clueless WHAT Lady Ga Ga is too. One thing for sure – there must def be a clue in her name!

    The forced used of lady maybe…

    Like

  7. I still Heart aap jaisa koi ( i remember after watching qurbani sis and I recorded our voice singing aap jaisa koi & laila me laila!)

    LOL….

    Like

  8. Ronita says:

    Aap jaisa koi was a little before my time though I absolutely love the song. Made in India was right about the time I was growing up and discovering men. Milind Soman. Coming out of that box. Siiiiiiiiiiiigggggggghhhhhhhhh.

    Yup. Siiigggghhhhh too.

    Like

  9. Roop Rai says:

    Same as Ronita!
    am i too young to be a fan?? 😐
    can i pliss be one too? cuz i did lurrrve Made in India and Johnny Joker!!! 🙂

    Like

  10. lady gaga is a woman ,she is very beautiful too , read an article ‘Before lady gaga became Lady Gaga’

    Like

Leave a Reply

