Its IPL season…

The husband can be found at peak family bonding time over the weekend, sitting gape mouthed in front of the television managing to effectively tune out the incessant whining of the spawn of his womb which is insisting that he needs to be taken to the mall, right now this very minute or we will need to spend our retirement money on his therapy once he reaches tortured adulthood where he counts all the deprivations he suffered through his childhood which led to him…well whatever.

The Kolkata Knight Riders in fancy blue and gold, play against the Royal Challengers in Red and Gold. I quite like the uniforms. I like gold in general, but not when it comes to jewellery. Anyone who has been blinded by my gold bags reflecting the sun would vouch for that. I used to be a passionate cricket buff in a previous avatar when I had endless summer vacations stretching in front of me, and no library membership. I would even sit through five days of test cricket. The mother would have to occasionally turn me onto my side to dust the sofa under me. I switched allegiance to football during a world cup when I discovered it was much more exciting to see grown men running around in shorts, and also the fact that football matches got over earlier than cricket test matches. This was the preinternet era. Pre telephone for me too, we only managed to get a telephone instrument into our home when I was out of college.

I took up my love for cricket again when I began dating the man I eventually married when I realised he was a slave to the game. Once I’d ensured he wasnt getting rid of me except through a lengthy divorce procedure, I gave up all pretence again. I find cricket much more exciting now. One doesnt need to spend an entire day comatose in front of the television to figure out how a match is headed. Three hours and we can all drown our sorrows in draught beer, or head out and whoop it up in celebration. Which is the real point of all these matches isnt it? The post match celebrations.

I would be hardpressed to name many of the current cricketers too. MS Dhoni. Ishant Sharma. Sanath Jayasuriya. Shane Warne. I’m thinking, I’m thinking, cmon, there’s a reason why brain cells atrophy and die, and thats called lack of use. My brain cells associated with cricket info have had a decent burial too. The child doesnt care too much for cricket. He seems sensible. He watches Superhero movies as a hobby.  He claims cricket is a waste of time because they are only running between the stumps and doing nothing else. Completely agree. Rather pointless. They could at least run all over the ground and give us some entertainment. And wear some nice shorts while theyre at it,

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Its IPL season…

  1. CA says:

    Me a cricket buff too … and religiously watched every match that was telecast … sometimes even the re-telecast. Now being distant away from the countries where matches are held, the timings just don’t work …
    How your Mr.Manral take the lack of cricket interest in his son?

    Mr Manral is quite certain his son has inherited my lack of the sporting gene. And takes it like a man.

    Like

  2. rrmom says:

    I was a cricket buff too what with two elder brothers at home…and even my mom and dad were such fans of the game. After moving to US, I now read about the matches than watch them.

    The tragedy!!!

    Like

  3. haha lalit modi will die if he reads this..or wait a sec, he can come up with even shorter version for football so you dont have to wait for 90 minutes 😛

    Now thats a thought.

    Like

  4. Bhavna says:

    I hate the IPL season; madly. I hate the way the hubby falls in love with the TV for eternity.

    yucks

    LOL. Behenaaa!

    Like

  5. Bhavna says:

    But dont get me wrong, I love cricket and the game…I can watch a 5 day with interest if its a world class game..not some circus

    LOL. The circus is what is making it fun now.

    Like

  6. Sands says:

    Me like CA used to be an ardent fan. Now living in a country that does nothing cricket and the time difference has killed the craze for me 😦 Maybe someday I will get back my love 🙂

    Maybe they will hold an IPL season there. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

