Award time…

Priya Iyer, who blogs here, has decided in her infinite wisdom that I am worthy of not one, but two awards. Both at the same time. Hand over the smelling salts please. Yes, the floor will need to be retiled, to repair the damage caused when I keeled over with the shock. But since awards are in scarce supply these days, I must confess, I am delighted, honoured, and am going to brag till everyone’s ears fall off about them awards.  I would have also done a wee acceptance speech, thanking everyone from my nursery school teacher who recognised my potential when I was just graduating from Capital letter formation to lower case heirogylphs, to the mater who is convinced I am wasting my life blogging and twittering it away, this is proof that all this is not in vain, history shall remember me as an eminent blogger with at least two awards to my credit.

Here they are:

For the honest scrap award, I need to list out ten honest to goodness things about myself that no one knows about, and I promise I will not speak about my nosehair turning white. And I need to pass this on to ten other bloggers.

The Beautiful Blogger award I need to pass on to bloggers I feel are beautiful, metaphorically speaking of course, since physical beauty is something one cannot vouch for in this online world.

So here goes the Honest scrap:

1] I need my undisturbed sleep. If you wake me up without there being a life and death situation to excuse yourself for the gustaki, prepare to have your head bitten off.

2] As I grow older, I find I am getting less concerned about my appearance. I even, gasp, get out of the house with chipped nailpolish.

3] I hate cooking with a passion which is balanced by my love for good food. Therefore, I make a great dinner guest who does full justice to a meal.

4] After 14 years of marriage, and six years of courtship, my heart still does a flip flop when the spouse walks into the room.

5] I am a cruel mom. I believe in tough love.

6] I havent shopped in over six months. I de-addicted myself cold turkey.

7] I am totally OCD about colour coded piles of clothes in my cupboard. I arrange my sons, my husbands and mine cupboard so precisely that I can immediately make out if a random hand has snuck into any.

8] I must walk for an hour every single day. Unless its a day I’m taking being bone lazy seriously.

9] I pray every night before sleeping. I fast on Fridays. I visit Mahim church for Wednesday novenas. I visit the temple on Saturdays. I’m getting religious in my old age.

10] I cannot swim, cycle, drive.

I pass this on to:

Itchingtowriteblogs

Dotmom

Poppins Mom

Aneela of Golkamra

Sscribbles

Chandni

Ceekay

Gauri

Broom

Choxbox

And now for the beautiful Blogger award

Dipali

OrangeJammies

Surabhish

Tharini

(To be continued)

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Award time…

  1. Violet says:

    Congratulations! You totally deserve these. And enjoyed reading your honest confessions.

    Like

  2. sscribbles says:

    Congratulations, K. Now that you have had so many of virtual awards, we would like to see you get a real one very soon. Hope you will meet your publishers soon.
    And thanks for the tag, will scribble down soon.

    Like

  3. Cee Kay says:

    Just saw this! Thanks a bunch. Will do it over the weekend.

    And let me know when you do it…

    Like

  4. boo hoo
    u hav already tagged me on this in jan!! giv me soe other home work

    Okay. *thinks hard*

    Like

  5. Pingback: If Only This Tag Were Wearable « Wisdom Wears Neon Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

