The horror of packing…

When you have a long extended trip planned, with the child and without the husband, you do tend to get a little paranoid. For one, because it means you will have to pack sensibly given that no one is about to help you haul your luggage up on trolleys and the child is prone to running off to explore corners in airports which are meant for only cleaning staff to reach. And you have the dual task of hauling suitcases and the child, which necessitates you to take a months worth of weight training in order to even attempt the task.

Hitherto, whenever we have had to travel, I have packed and packed and packed, secure in the knowledge that the man will look at the luggage, yell and scream a bit and then hoist it all up with his sturdy capable hands. My hands, on the other side, are delicate. They are not meant for hauling up sturdy luggage filled to the sit on and zip up point with clothes I might need, and with matching shoes to go with the ensembles.

This time round I need to be economical with my packing. Therefore the eradication. Multitasking clothes, which can be rolled up and packed and worn without the fear of them looking slept in when I unroll them and pour myself in them. Jeans. A lot of them. Sturdy walking shoes for when I need to walk. And a couple of comfortable wedgeheels for when I dont. One fancy top and trouser combo if there is ever an opportunity for an evening out. Infinite clothes for the child given his propensity to go through clothes like an army of termites let loose in a library. Medicines. Lots of it. For every possible ailment.  I’m making my lists. In excel files.  I need to pack with a list. If it is not on the list I dont put anything inside, even necessities like toothbrushes, never mind if I spend the first night at my destination using my finger with toothpaste smeared on it to clean the surfaces of my dental fixtures.

Wish me luck. I need to cram in three weeks worth of clothes and essentials into one duffel bag and a strolley, which is the only reasonable amount of luggage I can manage and still have a hand left to grab the child’s.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The horror of packing…

  1. mukul says:

    You said it lady. kids will wander to the sections where they are not suppose to, exactly when the conveyor luggage belt is let loose. Even worse, kids insist on climbing up on the conveyor belt. Or leave a toy on it, only for fellow passengers to give “THE LOOK” to the poor helpless parent.And parent cant even yell @ the kid for the fear of chasing him between the trolleys and suitcases.i am to face this in a couple of days.lets see how it turns out.

    So how did it go? I yell. I scream. I whack. I’m a bad mom.

    Like

  2. dipali says:

    Use a large strolley:)
    My sympathies:(

    Will pack the brat in it, if he gives me too much trouble.

    Like

  3. oh but dont forget your laptop! we need to read about your travel adventures as they happen.
    Bon Voyage!

    No no. Not carting along the laptop. Have the trusty BB.

    Like

  4. SJ says:

    Where are you off to Kiran? I saw the fare-well party post at the other blog as well.

    Farewell party was brat’s school summer vacation party. Nothing to do with us. We’re off to the mountains in a few days.

    Like

  5. Aathira says:

    Off for summer hols?? where?

    Like

Leave a Reply

