Do you get it all back in this life?

I’ve always been fascinated by the laws of karma. So fascinated in fact, that we’ve even named our company Karma. Whatever goes round, comes round. As you sow, so shall you reap. And so on. And so forth. Which is why, I’ve always tried to live my life in a way that doesnt hurt or harm anyone needlessly. Sure, Ive had my share of losing my temper, and saying things I regret, but I would like to think I’ve always treated the other with respect, been grateful for what has been given to me, and said my thanks with appropriate gratitude and returned favours to the best of my ability.

Life has been very very difficult the past year. Sometimes when you feel it all comes together, and all you can see is a long dark tunnel up ahead and no glimmer of light coming through from any direction? When anything you touch turns to mud, and trouble comes from corners you least expect it to? That was us. It was a year of living hell, a year that put the iron in my spine, and a determination that this was not going to get us down, that we were going to emerge from this, stronger, wiser and more grateful for all we had. We are still in tunnel, but now there is a glimmer of light up ahead. We are slowly making our way out. And I go down on bended knees before every God in the pantheon to help us, handhold us as we struggle to scramble out of the darkness.

The biggest sin, in my books is ingratitude. And I’ve seen in this past week, how karma rebounds on those who sin in this way. Those who have been ingrates, have had exactly what they took away from us by manipulation, threats, deceit and violence taken right away from them. They have learnt the lesson of ingratitude. As they were ungrateful, so it has happened with them. As they have bitten the hand that fed them, so has their hand been bitten. As they scoffed at our generosity, claiming it as their rightful due, so has their generosity been taken as a right and spat right back into their face. As they took from us through thievery and cunning, and intimidation, it has been taken from them.

And all the sins they have committed earlier, the tears they have made innocents shed for no fault of theirs, have all come full circle. You can never build a happy home on the tears of another. I now believe in that saying. I’ve seen how the sword of karma strikes, swift, fast and exacting its due. A home built on another person’s tears and pain will never last. The law of karma will see to that. It has already.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Do you get it all back in this life?

  1. Orange Jammies says:

    Must have a conversation with you about this. 🙂

    Please do.

    Like

  2. Jo says:

    You are very lucky!! But this is not always true…!!
    Usually it never happens…even if does i guess it is too late by then !!

    If it happens when you’re around to see it, icing on the cake.

    Like

  3. Ruchira says:

    I fully agree …. I dont think there is a hell or heaven after death .. it all here ….you pay for your bad deeds right here in this life ..the law of karma is infalliable-as you sow so shall you reap.

    Which keeps me on the straight and narrow.

    Like

  4. Priya says:

    Well..i too believe that ‘Whatever goes round, comes round’
    And.. can relate to what you have said about yourself ‘Ive had my share of losing my temper, and saying things I regret, but I would like to think I’ve always treated the other with respect, been grateful for what has been given to me, and said my thanks with appropriate gratitude and returned favours to the best of my ability’
    So..hang in there.. and all will be well! take care 🙂

    All is well. Now. We’re slowly getting out of the tunnel. Touchwood.

    Like

  5. maya says:

    that is so comforting to read. waiting for karma to come around and give some people what they’ve been dissing out. waiting….;)

    LOL. Our own justice league.

    Like

  6. Gymnast says:

    I am glad that a dark phase of your life is coming to an end. You have been very brave , but even as you talk about karma , why do i feel some bitternes?

    Karma , cause-effect is all very well..

    But i think , even as you believe in karma , you must not get very attached to the idea , ie , ‘this person has done this to me , so he deserves this ‘ , it’s like you hope for some kind of a revenge and are satisfied when it comes , you keep waiting for something bad to happen to that person.

    I know i am hardly anyone to say all this..but just sharing my ideas.

    Total devotion and belief in karma with a kind of detachment..

    Is that what its all about?

    I’m sorry. I am bitter. I am terribly bitter. And I am not detached. I am not that evolved a soul. I will not deliberately harm the other person. But I cannot wish him well either, for all the pain and misery he has brought on my family, and most of all my husband. I dont keep waiting for something bad to happen to that person. But when it does, I dont sympathise.

    Like

    • Gymnast says:

      Oh my god Kiran…Sorry?
      In fact i am sorry if this comment was rude. I was just honestly telling you what i felt.
      You hardly know me , but i am an admirer of yours , so much so that i took your name in one of the interviews when they asked for real people i admire.

      Like

  7. Namz says:

    How nicely written. Never know how fast it comes back, which generation it strikes … but sure it does, I have seen it:)

    I get happy to see people getting getting back their good and bad karmas. What makes me wonder is that a few people who are continuously bad in their own ways, how do they survive Karma ??
    My mom says its the good karma of their loved ones that shields them through …Donno how true this cud be though ….

    That it is. I see that too. It is the loved ones around who keep protecting them, pulling them out of whatever shit they get themselves and everyone around them.

    Like

  8. Cee Kay says:

    I do like to think that everyone gets their just dues in this life but unfortunately, to me, it doesn’t seem so 😦 Besides, even if they did get their just dues, how would that help me? I already lost whatever I lost, at their hands. I am not getting that back. In my case, it was my golden years – years when I could have worked my ass off and gotten where I wanted to be. Years that I could have spent happily instead of being terrorized. Now, whether they live or die, whether they get what’s coming to them or not, it isn’t going to do me any good :((

    Ah Cee, hugs.

    But I am happy for you. Happy that you saw your tormentors get their just dues. Like you, I believe in not causing hurt to anyone intentionally. And I do believe a hurt person’s curse carries a lot of weight.

    You know the entire thing.

    Like

  9. faeriee says:

    Strange… I have gone thru a similar phase in my life, not only for the past one years, but for the past 3 years. And even in my case, I am seeing a glimmer of light just ahead.

    I always follow up your posts, even though I may not comment on them always. But something about this post, the raw emotions… the pain… something, made me log in and type this.

    I am happy to know that things are getting better, Kiran. Take care. Things are going to get superb soon – just hang in there 🙂

    This was the full circle of the post that was plagiarised by SAG, the pain that began during those days. If you’ve been following this blog, you would know that post… 🙂

    Like

  10. Goofy Mumma says:

    I am a deep deep believer in Karma too. I agree with every word you have said here Kiran, and I can only say, that even if not in the same lifetime, it eventually does always, and but always come back, good or bad. And if we really and truly understand that, no one would ever act wrongly, harm another, or even think negatively about others, because doing any of that, just means doing it to our ownself eventually! I am happy, that you are able to witness the retribution of those who have wronged you.

    Its not me. Its my husband who has suffered. And I feel for him.

    Like

  11. R says:

    Just wondering..
    So when we suffer,we must have done something bad to deserve it..
    Do we ever stop and contemplate on that?

    I have. And I know its nothing Ive done in this life.

    Like

    • Cee Kay says:

      R, that is the typical thought process that Indian women are taught. If we are going through troubled times, we must have brought them on ourselves. Why?? This self doubt planted in our minds makes for some unnecessarily guilt. Sometimes it is simply the matter of very selfish people taking advantage of one’s simplicity and good nature, as in this case.

      I am sure K has contemplated that. And knowing her as I do, there is NO way she deserved any of this.

      Like

  12. CS says:

    Kiran,

    I’ve complete faith in Karma being a Hindu. My grandpa always taught me to do good things to people around us. Good thoughts always gives us peace of mind. But when people do selfish things to gain something at work or life , I used to wonder if they knew about laws of Karma : ).

    What goes around comes around and I’ve seen people catching up with their deeds sooner or later. When good people goes thru tough times, some insensitive people cite Karma . This used to bother me . I ask god to give me bigger heart to forgive people in my daily prayers. It feels good to forgive them. It’s a selfish way of creating peace in our thoughts. Growing up India I’ve always seen people leading a happy and content life having this trait.

    Hope you and husband come out of this difficult times soon.

    CS

    CS, I wish I could forgive. But I really cant. Not right now at least. Maybe some years down the line, when the anger has died down, and the wounds are healed I might. But not right now. Right now, I am still hurting. My husband is still hurting. And I dont have the power to forgive anyone. They can only redeem themselves by their own deeds.

    Like

  13. Sue says:

    Ah, karma. I believe in it strongly myself.

    Only, I can’t see the *point* of certain things I’ve had to go through, but someday I will, I suppose.

    LOL. Its kindof tough to see the point, isnt it.

    Like

  14. Sonia says:

    Dont know yaar..sometimes I feel karma takes a long time..how do you explain some people who are inherently selfish all their lives but everything works out for them. While others slog for the same things…

    Anyways remembered a kissa about when my Mom stayed with my Grandma for an extended prd of time – first her pregnancy, delivery and then some more (becoz my Grandfather has just passed away and the company did my Grandma good, my parents didnt have their own house and were staying with my Aunts etc etc) so this one nosey gentleman said that “If I were her husband, I would have kicked her out of my house”. A week later he broke his leg hehee…Instant karma. Wish we could see more of it 🙂

    See, thats karma working really quickly. 🙂 I cant explain anything. I cant explain why folks like Hitler died a painless self inflicted death when he tortured and killed so many innocents. I can only hope and pray that such folks get what is due to them in an afterlife of eternal suffering.

    Like

  15. Suchita says:

    Kiran,

    I come back to read your posts every day, but this post touched a chord on a very deep level and even more so your reply to Gymnast: ‘..I don’t keep waiting for something bad to happen to that person. But when it does, I don’t sympathize.”
    Life is too fast these days and karma needs to keep up too. So, it definitely all comes back in this lifetime.. That’s how we do know that justice has been served.

    In a small part of me, it makes me feel that maybe someone up there is looking out for me…

    Like

    • Suchita says:

      Someone sure is.. You know, this is where I get confused about the existence of God and even though I am not religious, I believe there is a force that oversees us.

      Of course there is. What random chance that primordial muck could create intelligent life? Too improbable a theory. There has to be a superpower.

      Like

  16. mayG says:

    Hugs for you Kiran.. you sure were a saint through all the trying times and its comforting in a strange kind of way to see that karma has come around.. hugs.. may this be the end of your share of troubles and woes in this lifetime babe..

    Hugs back MayG

    Like

  17. Shobana says:

    I don’t know what happened, but I am glad for you that karma made a 360 degree. Hugs and may all be well for you and for your family.

    Thanks Shobana.

    Like

  18. abha says:

    yup. a total believer. also believe that good things you do for folks around always come back, if not from them, then someone else.

    and as for some people dont seem to pay for their bad karma, they are / will pay in some form. there are things about people’s lives we dont know and you never know what part of it is unfulfilled and killing the seemingly happy facade.

    there are times when it seems futile to be good, but then i know thats the only way to live.

    i hope your family doesnt see any troubles ever again Kiran!

    hugs

    Thanks Abha, hope so too.

    Like

  19. Mukul says:

    Hi Kiran, I dont know what you went through. But i do believe in:Whatever goes round, comes round. And it happens in this lifetime.This is what I have seen around me. But yes there are a few instances where in people suffered much lesser than what they dished out to others. May be past life good deeds helping them now.
    Just a thought. I cant think too deep/profound/philosophical on this one.
    Mukul

    Thats true too.

    Like

  20. JLT says:

    Amen. Amen. AMEN. and HUGS!
    and am GLAD people got their just desserts.

    LOL. Behenaa!

    Like

  21. Tamanna says:

    Life is absolutely a zero sum game. I have this happen to and around me SO many times, I am a complete believer!

    🙂

    Like

  22. Parul says:

    So Karma believes that revenge is a dish best served cold?

    Like vichysoisse…

    Like

  23. bird's eye view says:

    i think what goes around does come around, except in the case of most desi politicians! Have seen it happen

    True. Bang on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

