Back to the evening walks

It has been a long holiday. Put in two weeks of travelling on vacation. And eating twice the amount that one normally does because, lets face it, travelling is exhausting. You sit around in a vehicle for almost an entire day and all your brain can think is, in large font, “Wonder what we will have for dinner?” And after five minutes, when you pass yet another stretch of mountain that looks exactly the same as the first, and all so incredibly beautiful that you wonder what you are doing shuttling around from point A to point B, rather than sit in one place and breathe in the view, you think, “I wonder if I can get my teeth into some chicken this evening.”

A lot of needless eating happened. And in the two places which were cold enough to merit it, one ate like a horse. Or a mare if you must be finicky about gender and such like. And when one returned to regular climes, the stomach had expanded itself to accommodate the extra nutrition and calories one had been chucking into it at regular intervals so the regular proportions of food one put in rattled around in the stomach much like stones in a can. Therefore, needing, as it begged, more food with which to buffer itself. Which in turn led to more food being scavenged for and tossed into the cavernous mouth. Which in turn has led to obscene things happening to the waistline which ensures one will never bathe facing the mirror, and that one has automatically reshuffled the wardrobe to keep the comfortfit jeans and the loose tops (some of which did double duty as maternity wear) to the fore.

And one went for a walk yesterday. It started off as being a serious walk. One with no distractions, head to the track and pump on. And then, the phone rang. And one chatted. And one’s speed dropped a bit because, after all, how easy is it to have a coherent conversation when one is panting like one has been upto unmentionable in public activity when in fact all one is doing is walking innocently at a pace that forces one to draw in more air to the burning lungs. So one slacked a bit. Then one picked up pace again. And since a friend began ambling along to conduct a piece of investigatory conversation on the sudden disappearance of a family from the premises, with whispers of loan sharks swarming the premises on the lookout for them, one slackened pace yet again. Then finally gave up any pretence at upping the cardio rate. Tomorrow. One promised self. Tomorrow I would walk to my heart’s content, without any distractions. Tomorrow I would walked till the knees rattled and the heart danced the tango. Tomorrow is today now.

I need to put in an hour’s worth of serious walking if I need to contain my waist within a room. I need to walk fast and long, if I need the protruberances around my thighs to not stick out at odd angles and risk me actually cutting a swathe through the crowd….and I need to start today. Wish me luck.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back to the evening walks

  1. Phoenixritu says:

    LOL! Your words evoke pictures …. thighs protruding at awkward angles …. cutting a swathe through the crowd … Priceless. I dont wish you luck, I wish you a stubborn determination to succeed in your goal. All the best

    Thanks Ritu, need it….

    Like

  2. Bhavna says:

    I am off on a vacation on Friday and that too to Dharamshala which apparently has amazing bakeries….what to do???
    Btw- the earlier post, loved it. After 11 years of marriage , I can vouch or love of this kind.

    Yup, but you can do a lot of walking on hilly roads to work off the ill effects of the bakeries na. I think I did enough climbing walking cardio on my pahad trip to last me a year…

    Like

  3. Tara says:

    try going to a gym, even if you work out for half an hur it will be serious workout.

    There is the little issue of not having a babysitter….plus, I really truly hate gyms…

    Like

  4. moi says:

    I’ve been thinking of going for an hour brisk walk since November last year..as it’s very cold and dark here in winters it’s almost impossible to go out for a walk in winters..but now that the weather is quite pleasant I still haven’t managed to get my bum out of the house and take the brisk walks I’d promised myself since November πŸ™‚
    I used to walk for an hour every day independent of weather..didn’t care if it rained or snowed I still used to go for my daily walk..to be honest I’v the kind of body that walks hardly help me lose weight but it of course helped me not to gain more weight..but since I stopped walking I’ve been looking like a basketball πŸ™‚ so thanks to your post I’ll force myself to go out and walk. and I wish you good luck with your walks..hopefully you’ll do it more often, now that you’ve managed to start πŸ™‚

    And wish you the same, lets shake the cellulite off…

    Like

  5. Rachna says:

    My one strict rule is to NEVER carry my cell with me when I go to the gym. Have stuck to this rule for over 3 years now (since I, unfortunately, do not go to the gym that often πŸ˜‰

    Anyway, so I never take it with me since its distracting- and exercise is serious business!

    Do you have a kid? A naughty one? If yes, you are one brave lady if you go anyplace without the cell
    .

    Like

  6. dipali says:

    Go for it, says this not always so regular walker!
    Holidays are bad for the metabolism, unless the weather is conducive to good long walks.

    Starting walking and diet control seriously today or will not be able to button any pair of jeans ever.

    Like

  7. Sue says:

    See, I KNOW you don’t ever read Sunny Days but you’ve been invited to the blogathon. No hurry though, you got all month.

    http://sunayanaroy.blogspot.com/2010/06/red-marker-blogathon.html

    Now I’m off to read your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

