The thin belt….

…and the tucked in shirt. A terrifying new fashion trend I am seeing cropping up everywhere with stick insects rushing in hordes to wear checked and other variants of fitted shirts. And tuck them into the pant waists which are somewhere around a few inches below the navel. And then accentuate the entire look with a thin belt with a flashy buckle which probably reads “This Is A Super Luxury Brand Belt and Probably Costs More Than Your Annual Food Budget”. Worn over skinny denims. You get my drift. You get the look? It is a look that scares me.

For one I cannot, cannot tuck a shirt in. I donot wear shirts as a norm. Buttons tend to gape at buttonholes when buttoned across the chest. I am, what they call politely, a healthy girl. And then to tuck the shirt in, I would need a shirt of a certain length. Which would stay tucked in and wellbehaved for the entire day.

And then there is the small matter of the paunch. I spent the better part of the past four months convincing myself it was pre and post menstrual bloat, until, I finally accepted that all those hours of desk work and mindless comfort food eating, coupled with zero evening walks thanks to the monsoon months, have shown their results with fat deposits right at the front of the abdomen. I just have a little way more to go before I get congratulated for ‘good news’.

I now have, what is officially termed a potbelly. I have hideous dreams of the husband finding new, nubile, unpotbellied nymphet and demanding a divorce from my horrendousness. I wake up sobbing, and clutching the surprised man, and begging him to swear he will never ditch me no matter how gross my belly becomes.

Tucking in a shirt to accentuate this? Blasphemy. I will not be able to breathe until I get the damn outfit off for fear of popping a button either at the chest or at the waist. Luckily, I will have above mentioned thin belt to hold waist together if waist button does decide to do the pop on me.

I am therefore doomed to be unhip and untrendy until this trend runs its course. When, do you think, will kaftans make a comeback?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The thin belt….

  1. Rani says:

    Oh kaftans would be good seriously. They are such a blessing to people like us.

    But I like the look of shirts tucked in, don’t think I even have the right to wear something like that and walk on the streets. 😦

    Like

  2. Ruchira says:

    One of my greatest desires is to wear a tucked in shirt. It hasn’t come true as yet.
    I guess I’ll pass this trend too and continue to look dagger eyed at those stick thin individuals as they strut about with their fitted shirts!
    BTW Kiran – I empathize – my problem is pcos too 🙂

    Like

  3. abha says:

    there was a time i used to wear them! eons ago ofcos! even then i wasnt a skinny insect with a nice formal shirt tucked in a look i LOVE! i gave away those gorgeous shirts to thinner cousins recently.

    there are limits even to optimism! kya kare?! 😦

    and when will you stop exaggerating?! you are a hawt woman! 🙂

    Like

  4. Gigi says:

    I’m convinced you have to be as thin as the average Chinese/Korean/Vietnamese woman to pull these trends off. 🙂

    I thought skinny jeans with oversize cashmere sweaters and boots were in. I guess I’m so yesterday!!

    Like

  5. Aarti says:

    Atleast in India this trend is not so crazy! but i am noticing quite a few thin, rather super thin girls.. some of them eat well, and yet remain thin, while others nibble like rats!! bah, what a life!!

    Like

  6. Phoenixritu says:

    Lets start the kaftan trend please! I would love it

    Like

  7. Vidya says:

    Geez! Who decides to bring such styles in fashion? Some conspiracy to make the common (wo)man depressed 😦

    Like

  8. Vidya says:

    Geez! Who decides to bring such styles into fashion?????

    Like

  9. Simran says:

    My problem isn’t the waist. I have an ‘almost’ flat stomach. My problem is my typical big ‘Punjabi’ butt. Sarees work well on me, but bye bye pencil skirts and skinny jeans with tucked in shirts. Sigh!

    Like

  10. Sue says:

    It’s not you, it’s the shirts they make. Bleddy formal wear that is too short to tuck in. Eejits.

    Like

  11. Suki says:

    Ah, the gaping buttonholes that have dogged me throughout school life. What’s wrong with girls’ shirts being of the non-buttoned type I ask you?

    Bleddy fashion… suited to one body type at a time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

