No, I havent done Diwali cleaning this year…

I did it religiously for the past few years, put my back out cleaning out cobwebs, emptying out closets, scrubbing the walls, and all the assorted stuff that goes into making one feel harassed and witchlike on the actual Diwali Day. And Laxmi has conveniently decided over the past few years to give our house the miss.

So, I rationalised, I’m going in for reverse psychology this year. The house is relatively clean. On a normal day you could eat off my kitchen floor. A casual visitor will see it spic and span to the extent of gleamingness so great you need sunglasses to keep the retinas undamaged.

Therefore no ‘cleaning’ has happened this year. Cupboards were cleaned out. Regular cobwebs dusted out. Crockery cleaned. Shelves cleant up. Walls spruced up. As always.

Fingers crossed. Laxmiji makes the trip to this house which is always clean. We could do with her visiting.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No, I havent done Diwali cleaning this year…

  1. Neha S says:

    I know what you mean,we even brighten up our house so that Ma Laxmi would notice and would at the least make a visit.So crossing my fingers for you as well as myself.

    Much love.
    P.S.:Congratulations on your book,I am an ardent fan of your blog,I’d be one of the first ones to pick your book up.=)

    Like

  2. Sands says:

    Happy Diwali to you and your family, Kiran!

    Like

  3. Anu says:

    Happy Diwali Kiran

    Warm Regards

    Anu

    Like

    • Vaishali Gala says:

      Hey Kiran,

      I came across your blog when I typed in Google “Diwali Cleaning” as I was trying to find if is there a quicker way to do it without breaking my back ,..lol..
      Loved your blog and your style of writing .
      Believe me now I am reading all the blogs that you have written .
      And surely I would like to read your book too .

      Hey Happy Diwali & a Prosperous New year ahead

      Like

  4. fazal ahmad says:

    like it kiran mam…i hope laxmi ji came there with all blessing n showered it over ur family.

    Regards

    Fazal Ahmad

    Like

Leave a Reply

