So the computer crashed yesterday…

It was the stuff nightmares are made of, you know the kind of nightmares where you’re chased by a ghost or a ghoul or whatever repellent creature your subconscious can conjure up and your voice has suddenly disappeared and you cant escape. That kind of stuff.

I sat at the computer at 8.30 am as is my norm and switched the machine on. After a few minutes, during which I done the essential essential first thing in the morning things like update my facebook status and go nose around for some conversations in Twitter to add one’s two bits to, when suddenly something flashed on the screen. RAM critically low, and the screen flashes some boxes and some more warnings flashed at me and I froze. The kind of froze that a non techie person does when she doesnt know whether the next key she presses will cause the infernal machine to blow up in her face. Defragment now, Defragment now yelled another box with flashing lights in my face. Yes, yes, yes I skittered and clicked on the defragment.

Okay, you are all free to take a sock to my jaw right now. I had the techie guy hopping with frustration and rage when he realised what I had done when he sat down to recover my files when he was hauled in by phone calls at five minute intervals to “Do something now!”

And of course, me being me, had been planning take back up of all my work and never actually got round to it. What? I’m not an organised person, in my defence. I am a woman who puts on her make up in the car. Every single day. You get the picture.  Ergo, I was rolling around on the floor of my mezzanine thrashing around in hapless mourning when I realised I had managed to make the entire C drive of the computer just disappear. It had, not only all my work done over the past so many years, but also the first draft of my approved novel and around eight chapters, or 60k odd words of my second work in progress. I dont know if mankind should be glad or sad for the loss. I was heartbroken. I sobbed big fat salty tears, tears of the like I had sobbed during my adolescence for unrequited crushes. I moped around all day, dragging my chin up from the floor everytime I snagged it on a tear in the floor lamination.

The serfs were put on the task of calling the tech support guys at an interval of every two seconds and no later, and when they finally did land, I perched on their shoulders and chewed their ears off.

Finally they pleaded to be left alone with their data recovering software and endless cups of tea and I was led away reluctantly, back home where I chewed off every manicured nail. This morning I was back at the office, sorting through the files recovered. A fair bit had been recovered. Some are garbled beyond coherency, and need reworking. Some are absolutely intact. I am calm and zen today. I should have worn orange robes to reflect my mood, but I dont have an orange coordinated bag to carry with it.But I did a bit of reading up on my quick bytes philosophy gyaan dispensing books and feel that whatever had to happen, happened for the best. I was getting too attached to my trash and needed the big hand of God to clean it all out and make me start the new year on a fresh slate. And so I will. By God I will. Let me mop the tracks furrowed into my cheeks by my tears first.

 

 

 

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So the computer crashed yesterday…

  1. Violet says:

    Oh dear! I can completely understand the agony.. and hope nobody has to go through it again. It is my worst nightmare, and the techsavvy person that I am, I keep mailing random stuff to my webmail-box. USB drive is disabled by the office, and so I have no idea how to copy my data.

    Like

  2. R's Mom says:

    Awww! hugs..I can so relate to that…hope you recover whatever is important…and please please take a back up at least once in a month…I learnt it the hard way too..when all my data of my office comp went missing and I had to rework on a presentation about 500 slides long 😦

    Like

  3. JLT says:

    Oh, Kiran! Your novel!!!! 😦 Hope that is totally recovered!

    Like

  4. Shruti says:

    oops! but why did u press defragment!!!!!!!!!
    tips.
    1. always save ur data on D drive. easier to recover
    2. take backup on an external drive once in 15 days for imp data like ur novel..
    3. when lights are flashing, don’t press any OK button, just disconnect the power cord.. or if its a laptop remove battery

    Hope ur novel was recovered. Hugssssssss

    Like

  5. Anu says:

    Hi Kiran

    Really really sorry that your computer crashed.
    Hopefully things take a turn for the better soon.

    Anu

    Like

  6. sandhya says:

    OMG….can imagine the agony poor u would have been thro! And OMG..it can haapen to me right now too…Hope all ur imp stuff was intact! Lemme get the back ups immediately!!!!

    Like

  7. anna says:

    how devastating. really hope novel is safe and sound and that it was the important treasures that got recovered intact.

    Like

  8. Sue says:

    In case nobody has told you yet, please save everything on D or whatever drive you have. I have nothing important on C because that’s the one that loses data. D has a better chance of recovery I was told and I stick to it. Lesson learnt the hard way many years ago, of course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

