Bye bye 2010, hello 2011

This is one of those years that whizzed by too fast for me to really savour it. Ergo, this coming year, I intend to savour each and every day of the year, rather than turn my head back on the last day of the year and wonder if we really lived through the year, or is this some time machine time warp kind of crap which has picked me up by the seat of my pants sometime at the end of 2009 and deposited me right into the future one year being skipped in the process.

Seriously though, 2010 was a year that taught me a lot. For one, it taught me to take charge of my own money. For years Ive been playing little girl with a piggy bank with the spouse and the mother taking complete charge of every cheque that came my way. Now I do my own slip filling in, depositing, withdrawing and being responsible. The stores are not happy with this new me. It means I spend less. It means the retail economy of modern India can no longer depend on me to push them into double digit growth figures. It means salespeople no longer know me by name and credit card number. It also means I have more wardrobe space and less guilt.

I’ve also, miracle or miracles, decided to learn how to cook. And the way to do this, I’ve decided, is to ensure I make at least one dish a day, if not a complete meal. To be honest, my hands no longer shiver when I enter the kitchen, and sweat no longer drips off the palms. I can actually look at a set of raw ingredients, and not feel my heart leap from my chest into the roof of my mouth and continue to beat like a Congo drum. I have been watching cooking shows with such religiousness that even the child knows the participants of cooking shows with me, and discusses the recipes being prepared. I think my daughter in law should go down on bended knees in gratitude.

I also, err, wrote a book. Which is on its way to being published. And did it in an impossibly scary manner by speedwriting it in two weeks. Something I think the reviewers will never let me live down for the rest of my life. Nonetheless, not content with speedwriting the first one, I was mid speedwriting my second when a computer hard disk saved the world from the second and now I will proceed at a slower speed with the next. Making time for revisions and corrections.

I had three lovely holidays this year, the first to pahadland with family. The second to Goa with spouse and child and the third, a mini break to Kolkata to meet blogfriends. Any more I guess would be plain gluttony for punishment.

I also watched football for the first time in my life and live tweeted through all the games. It was an experience I look forward to repeating every FIFA until the child locks me up in an old age home and throws away my Blackberry.

I got started on a serious skin care regimen. The big 4-O hits in June, and I’m sure as hell not going to age gracefully, I’m going to fight it every step of the way. Although, I might not quite go the Rita Rudner way and have facelifts till my ears meet.

I learnt a lot about human nature. And the principle that to thine own self be true. It is the only thing that has kept me sane through this entire year.

How did your year go?

 

About Kiran Manral

40 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bye bye 2010, hello 2011

  1. Anu says:

    Hi Kiran

    Congrats on many fronts.

    Looking forward to reading your book. Do keep your readers posted.

    Totally get the money management. I too have been taking baby steps in the direction. Not yet reached your level… but one step at a time.

    On a lighter note…

    When reading about cooking, was wondering if you might attempt a desi version of Julie and Julia… a Kiran and Kapoor (sanjeev) ..not an original idea (certainly not an original title)… but each experience is unique..and your witty style of writing..would add the much needed tadka…

    Wishing you a wonderful year ahead

    warm regards

    Anu

    Like this

  2. Anamika says:

    Happy new year dear
    Am soooooooooooooo looking fwd to ur book
    can’t wait to buy that

    my year was great…
    got pregnant.. turned 30 … completed my MBA … had my baby …

    Like this

  3. Sue says:

    2010 was good to me. No complaints.

    Like this

  4. Sonia says:

    Happy new year Kiran!! When is the book coming out?? I need to buy me a copy :)

    Like this

Leave a Reply

