So how did you spend your New Year’s Eve?

Me? I was curled up in bed in the child’s room by 10.30 pm,  with the child held fast in my arms. The spouse was downing his celebratory vodka in our bedroom and I had every intention of waking up by 12 am and padding across to wish him a Happy New Year, but as is evident, sleep was too stern a mistress and refused to release me from her clutches. So I slept in. Gah. Maybe it is time to call up that old age home and check myself in. Pass me that adult diaper too while you’re at it.

Seriously though, the last time we went out to celebrate the New Year’s Eve was probably circa 2000. We had, along with a group of friends, passes to a party being held at Madh Island. I was much excited and had bought myself a shiny new black velvet top for the occasion and slathered on much dark eyeliner and red lipstick and fancied myself looking quite Spanish and exotic, I’m sure given the heavy handedness with which I applied the same, others around me would have thought of less flattering terms. We set off for the party at around 9 pm, which seemed a decent time to set out, given that Madh Island was on a regular day, a ten minute drive from our home. On this day we inched forward. Minute by minute. When the clock struck twelve, we wished each other a Happy New Year in the car. The spouse, never known for being cool, calm and collected and the man who has his head on his shoulders when the rest around are losing theirs, was boiling with a rage he didn’t know whom to take out on. I was, right there, and the handiest target. Of course, we ended up having a massive spat barely we hit the dance floor and all I can remember of the rest of the evening is that I tried to find an auto to get me back home, and this was pre-cellphone possession and yes, clout me on the head, it was also not a very sensible thing to do, given I hadn’t carried a purse or any money on me. Anyway, the man managed to extricate me from a very very tricky situation involving leering drunk men leaning into my auto, (Thank God for traffic jams, which ensured the auto had got no further than ten paces from the gate of the party!) We have since not gone out for the New Year’s Eve celebrations.

A couple of years down the line, I got pregnant, and the kind of pregnancy that has you lying on your back through it all, with your feet elevated, and stitches put in to keep the brat in making stay put in place, all going out officially stopped since then.

A number of my friends attended house parties, or went out to various hotels where parties were being held at loot the bank cover charges. I grumbled amicably at them and keeled over with jealousy when they, sadistically, might I add, detailed the fun they had, while I planned out which angles I should throw the knives at them. And when I checked out FB pictures this morning, I hunted around for spoonfuls of water to chuck myself into. And there were a couple of others like me, who had brought in the New Year at home with the family, and we shed some hot tears on each other’s shoulders, promising each other that we would make the year rock more than the bringing in of it did.

To be honest though, and don’t you dare tell anyone, especially not the spouse, since I have been very vocal about my disappointment that we Never Go Out, I am a little relieved at not having the pressure to dress up and go out and party. Its a nice feeling to bring in the New Year, curled up under a blanket, a little head on your arm, a little hand holding you tight and a leg thrown over you, almost afraid to let you go. A few years down the line, the child will be partying with his friends and not want me around. Till then, let me revel in him wanting me around. And say to myself, 2011, the year I brought in, with my son kicking my stomach hard while fighting sleep demons.

 

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So how did you spend your New Year’s Eve?

  1. sandhya says:

    Sigh…u have me for company! The new year eve’s parties have become a thing of the past. We spend the eve in heavy traffic witnesing the fireworks at Burj Khalifa this time though!

    Like

  2. Mumbai Diva says:

    with closest friends, at a friends place. Amidst dancing, food and drink. Lots of little people between 1.5 yrs and 3 .5 yrs also had a whale of a time requesting for ‘jawani’ ( sheela ki jawani) repeatedly.

    Like

  3. R's Mom says:

    Awww! thats so sweet…I can so relate to being-at-home-to-bring-in-the-new-year!

    Like

  4. faeriee says:

    I never go out on new year’s eve – and never regret it either. This year four of us sat in front of the TV and watched Star awards and pigged out on double cheese burst pizza. It was cosy, warm and sweet. We shouted ”happy new year” to each other at 12, was fun 🙂

    Like

  5. Meenakshy says:

    Same new year here.. Ganesh’s sleep was broken for some and he wanted to hold my hand then.. and dozed off.. while spouse had gone partying with relatives 🙂
    For me too.. it couldnt have been better

    Like

  6. Sonia says:

    Yup totally agree, with an infant and a kid now, dinner with family and curling up on the sofa with family was more festive 🙂

    Like

  7. bukvorm says:

    We spent it at home..Chilling in front of the TV, with pizza 🙂

    And I agree, the pressure of dressing up and all is just too much sometimes…

    Like

  8. justanothermommy says:

    I did the same thing you did – with my li’l one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

