So the jinx was broken….

The best part about being in the blogworld is that one gets to meet a hell of a lot of folks who feel like theyve been childhood friends, and when one finally does meet them face to face, one realises that they are far far different from the mental image one had of them. So it happened with me yesterday. I was shocked. Pleasantly so.

After much planning, cancelling (on my part) and coordination, Chandni who is a blogger from Delhi, and not a mommy blogger, but a mommy blog reader, and a girl who comes across as being so larger than life, and I finally met up for lunch yesterday. I reached the Mainland China venue first and settled myself at a table for two behind a pillar and decided to utilise the waiting time I had by snooping around on twitter and figuring out just which conversation to jump into uninvited when a tiny, chirpy little college girl came upto me and hugged me. The face. It was the same. The persona, it was as bubbly as her blogs and her tweets suggested. But this was no larger than life person, this was a little tiny creature, so delicate I would be terrified of bear hugging her, you know, what if I cracked some bones.

It felt good to be on the other side of the divide, because I have had some right disconcertening moments when blogpals meet me and ask me if I’ve always been so tiny before they remember their manners as to how to behave when meeting elders, and how their parents brought them up and say a Hello. (*Raises stern eyebrow at the Sue*) Or when I meet up with other blogpals who tower on either side of me like Amazons, them being some six feet tall each and I the dwarf in the middle put there for comic relief.

It was a buffet. And a buffet, with some never ending starters I did full justice to, never mind the stomach which was groaning in protest. Then I hauled myself towards the buffet spread and had to hire a passing trolley to take my plate back to the table.  And so I ate. And we chatted. And time flew by, until it was time for me to rush back to pick the grumpy child from school and time for her to reach the airport for her flight.

Thank you for the book, C, true, we came to meet the bloggers and left having met a friend.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So the jinx was broken….

  1. aneela z says:

    that amazon is Parul right..khair hai kuch nahi kahey gi, just nod!!
    oh and Im dying to meet Chandni. And for some Mainland China. Chalo Mainland hi sahi (running now to make plans for weekend)

    Like

  2. chandni says:

    Lady K!!!!! Tiny college girl??!!! Hmph.

    Know if you must, I like being called large and full. Still getting used to the new me who I believe needs to gain some weight :/

    Anyhow, I will write a more non-flattering post for u 😛

    Like

  3. chandni says:

    And my darling Aneela,

    I will come all the way to Dhaka if I have to…darling tere liye :*

    Like

  4. Iya says:

    nice nice.. chandu u have lost weight? i never thought u were tiny but then we havent met coz u r a ditcher!!
    Kiran – its true, and Monika is one such example for me. i met her as a blogger but now she is a dear dear fren’.

    Like

  5. chandni says:

    @Iya: Of course I am not tiny. This is all lady K’s attempt to say she’s like an ogre so that when u see her, u’ll go “Oh my, but u aren’t BIG”.

    Don’t believe her!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Bombay Diaries « BoHeMiAn RhApSoDy

  7. soulmate says:

    Now this has become quite interesting.. Next time when I am in Mumbai, would definitely like to meet you with your permission..

    Like

Leave a Reply

