No TV day for you too?

For the past so many days Hindustan Times has been telling us that January 29 is a No TV day. And they have, praise them, chalked out an entire slew of things one can do with one’s family on said No TV day to keep one occupied. Interesting stuff. Going for nature walks, and visiting museums, and going on heritage walks, and music concerts and such like. It intrigued me. I live in a house that swears by its televisions. Three of them. When the brother in law lived with us, we had four.

If you enter the home in the evening you will find all three television sets on, or two at least mandatorily on. This time lasts for perhaps an hour or two. It keeps the peace before dinner time, if we are all compelled to make conversation, it might cause trauma. Seriously. We find it is better for world peace if each member of the household is deeply engrossed in their zoned out little world located in the flickering idiot box. The spouse will be glued to CNBC until 9pm, after which he will flick around for a random movie to watch. If he finds nothing worth his eyeball time, he will read through a book, or get onto his laptop.

The grandmother will lie down on the sofa and watch a couple of serials back to back until she drifts off into the welcoming arms of sleep. The child will scuttle between rooms for the little while the televisions are on when he returns from playing down in the park, find something that interests him, and settle down to watch it for a bit before it is his designated bedtime. He watches roughly an hour of television everyday. I watch approximately the same, with interest, discounting the time I sit with the grandmother and converse about the incidents of the day, and rip apart some folks who need serious ripping apart the way only two women can do.I am often seated in front of a television which is on because the grandmother is watching something and with my nose in a book. The brat will be playing with his action figures in one corner of the room.

On most evenings though, you will find me taking a walk in the park chatting with my friends, the brat down playing with his and causing minor world wars with shifting allegiances to various groups within the band of tykes who run through the compound like hunting dog packs, the spouse will be with his nose in a book for a major part of the evening, the elderly relative will be out with her group of friends, returning home at the comfortable hour of eightish just in time for dinner and sleep. I will be with my nose in my book du jour or my thumb moving furiously over the keypad of the phone. The child will be marking my spotless tiles with infernal whirring creations of the devil called Beyblades. Television. We don’t live our lives in it.We have other addictions.

Which is why I wonder whether it is worth having a NO TV day in our household. Maybe a no books and a no Beyblade day would work much better. And the scariest for me? A no internet day.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to No TV day for you too?

  1. A ‘No Internet Day’ would be the scariest day for me too.

    Like

  2. aneela z says:

    No Internet Day, thats like China right?!!!

    Like

  3. Iya says:

    No blackberry day would be a killer for me.
    Coming to the point of ur post, i think this day is surely not meant for household such as urs. But there are households out there where little children are spending more time in front of the TV then playing out in the open. Where spouses spend time watching diff TV’s than maybe talking to each other. So for them it makes sense.
    you are a evolved person Kiran. This is for more regular run of the mill junta!!

    Like

  4. mayG says:

    oh I hear you on the no internet day, that has got be the scariest!

    Like

  5. soulmate says:

    I am having No TV day for past many days… TV went for a toss and it seems difficult to get it repaired but I am not missing it somehow. May be because I am not used to watching it except on weekends…
    and Yes, I have had no internet day as well for many days..

    Like

  6. Rachna says:

    For me, the worst would be a no-book day. I was so anti-TV that we did not have one at home for a 3.5 years. Just bought a TV two months ago- simply because everybody would look down thier noses and think we were too poor to buy one! Peer Pressure, I guess 🙂
    Now, I see it for one hour everyday. But yes, I do Netflix on it quite a bit!

    Like

  7. Megha says:

    There have been days w/o television, but definitely not a weekend. It’s when we catch up on the shows we DVR over the week. So yes, I will miss TV if it were turned off on 29th.
    But the most scary? No internet, for sure!!! How did we live without it in the ‘good’ old days, I don’t know. But I cannot live without it for sure.

    Like

  8. no one at my place watches any television.
    it gets switched on for a random cricket or a tennis match once in a while… weird considering i work for a GEC!

    what is MORE weird is that while HT goes on about the no TV day, their sales team are desperately pitching the ad space to us… i hear a competition channel has booked a lot of space on the 29th in the paper :/

    Like

  9. Aathira says:

    me too… hardly watch tv… but internet is what the addiction is 🙂

    Like

  10. dipali says:

    Our one and only TV is usually turned on by the spouse or the son.
    I sometimes put it on for background noise if I’m going to be alone. I actually need to train myself to watch it intelligently. And to spend time away from the other screen that holds me in its thrall:)

    Like

  11. Manish raj says:

    Please Don’t say “No Internet Day” I will die 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

