Of the dietary restrictions imposed on self…

A month now, I think, give or take a few days and the old self has not withered into hairpin curves yet.

The oatmeal breakfasts are on with the kind of self flagellating regularity which would surely earned me red carpet entry to any kind of ascetic discipline monastery. I now douse them with a sprinkling of sugar substitutes to make it a little more palatable and not eeriely like the remains of a slug I squashed underfoot on a hot tarmac.

Sugar has been dropped from the endless cups of coffee I consume in the course of my day in order for my brain to stay on full alert. I greedily count the number of calories I had not consumed through mindless spoons of sugar and make up for it all at once by downing a Cornetto post lunch or scarfing through a Bournville guiltily, when no one is looking.

I walk every single day. For at least an hour or an hour and a half. I’ve grown addicted to the walk. It calms me down and centres me. I can come back from my walk and feel the endorphins flowing through my system and the popping in my thighs assuring me that some complex bio chemical process is underway that is slowly and steadily breaking down the mounds of cellulite which has my thighs jutting out at right angles to the rest of my legs, and soon, I will have the kind of buff contours that would make any swimsuit model proud.  Let a woman have her delusions, folks.

Rice has almost been cut out of my diet. Ah well. Lunch. But I have chapattis at night and get hunger pangs by the time it is close on 11 pm since I eat my meal by 8 pm. And then I toss and turn to visions of tandoori chickens doing the chorus line up at the Moulin Rouge.

Am I slimmer, discernibly? Not yet. But I am discernibly grumpier. I have been biting heads off quicker that the Queen could say off with his head. I have been spending work hours thinking about my next meal. I am totally, utterly and completely miserable and even the thought of being able to look into the mirror without recoiling in horror at my reflection is doing nothing to change my state of mind. I need one of them miracle thingies which you can drink down, get all the nutrients you need and feel so full that the thought of ingesting any solid food makes you barf. Alternately, I need some food switch in my brain turned off. The best of all, I need to stick pictures of my muffin top on my softboard. That should kill all appetite for sure.

 

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Of the dietary restrictions imposed on self…

  1. MinCat says:

    Kiran, I’ve been trying to lose weight for 15 years now, and i LOVE LOVE LOVE food, not to mention potatoes. Hang in there. It’s a bitch. Eat five times a day, but small amounts. See a nutritionist, it really is worth it even if only just once. Make sure it’s not a dietitian, but a nutritionist who will help you with a diet that you can eat and be happy with. I FINALLY found one, Cheenu Parashar at Max Hospitals in Delhi. I am always full and happy, though I still cheat occasionally.

    Try the oatmeal with salt! I don’t like sweet breakfasts and I discovered it is an awesome thing.

    Ok I just broke my rule about springing weightloss advice on strangers….i hate it when people do it to me. sorry. =\

    Like

  2. Simran says:

    I agree about the seeing a nutritionist part. It definitely helps to get to know what you should/should not eat and what works for your body. I am slowly getting into the rhythm of my food plan – the cheating is still on, though it has reduced in frequency compared to a month back. It rained y’day and I made pakoras with chai in the evening when my diet plan asked me to eat some fruit! 😦

    Like

  3. Preeti Sharma says:

    Hi!
    Have hot water throughout the day (atleast 8 glasses). It’s “the” trick. Have fun!

    Like

  4. shilpadesh says:

    Sigh weightloss was never on my radar, being tall, I always hid my 5-8 extra pounds rather well. Now I am almost ready to pop out the baby any time and have a feeling that I will find it really hard to hide the 30 extra pounds I put on! Hang in there Kiran, weightloss is hard work.

    Like

  5. darkcomedy says:

    Kiran, Like Mincat said above, I hate giving or receiving weightloss advice but I just want to tell you one thing that a nutritionist told me – you may choose to ignore. If you’re feeling grumpy or missing food all the time, you’re probably eating too little. That’s never good, specially if you happen to have PCOS.

    Like

  6. Writerzblock says:

    I love food, and hate exercise.
    But yes, I’ve just started swimming and LOVE it, so I’m hoping that by end of this year, I would be atleast one dress size smaller 🙂

    Like

  7. Vidya says:

    I keep hearing the great-gran (my MIL’s mom- 83 yrs old) say what Preeti is saying above.. Eat what you want, but make sure you drink hot water after every meal.. not sure about the authenticity of the tip though:) Good luck!

    Like

  8. hey dear have gone through it all and loved your post coz recognize myself in it hehehhee

    Like

  9. sarika says:

    After reading this I am feeling that its my story…….

    Like

  10. Recently after a trip abroad during the holidays I had put on a lot of weight. I felt slower and upset, not knowing how to shake off the pounds. But one thing that worked great for me is green tea. I drink 3-4 cups of green tea everyday. It is something I noticed my Thai roommate do a long time ago.
    But I have noticed that when you stop drinking green tea, some of the water weight creeps back. I decided it was time to stop sugars from my diet, and I feel better than ever now. I eat brown rice in small quantities and have reduced carbohydrates from my diet. I feel better than ever. Stopping sugar prevented my weight from fluctuating too.
    And yes, lassi works great to make you feel fuller and maintain a smaller waist. I have lost 8 kgs and my weight is now at a good steady number.

    Like

Leave a Reply

