And more on Lavasa…

It took me an encounter with an intravenous injection and a rather amused doctor at the spic and span Apollo Hospital before I resumed partying. (A big thank you to Monika and Biswajeet here, for ensuring I got quick medical care).

And as we returned back to the promenade, the very aroma of the Shawarmas from the stall we passed which almost made me retch on the way to the hospital, actually had me craving some. Food, on the waterfront promenade is plentiful. You are spoilt for options.There’s oriental, a Subway, an All American Diner complete with red rexine booths and vintage posters on the wall, a patisserie, a pub, stalls galore and the divine Chor Bizarre which I think, was the highlight of my culinary experience at Lavasa. Here’s the waterfront promenade. 

While I had been moaning and groaning and writing out my last will and testimony in my room, my blogger friends (Ideasmithy, Anushankarn, Lemonicks, Pushpz, Monika and ShaaqT) had had an interesting encounter with an Oriental Octopus. The encounter was so interesting that it was universally agreed that another restaurant should be tried for dinner.The pub, alas, was shut much to the horror of those of us who would have wanted to be fortified with some spirits. Of the liquid kind.

Ergo, washed, spit cleaned and made up, I emerged to the fully lit waterfront promenade eager to get fork and knife to victuals. Chor Bizarre, it was decided, it would be. Who was I to debate, I was hungry, I had had only only medu vada sambar enter my digestive organs since the morn and that too had emerged the wrong way out.

Chor Bizarre is the most deliciously done up restaurant I have visited in my life. And that is a compliment.  Decorated with lovingly sourced antiques and artefacts, the restaurant is a charming hodge podge of mismatched chairs and antique carved tables, samovars and cut glass stained mirrors. The piece de resistance, an antique four poster bed, converted into a table for six.

A charming waitress, slight in her oversized uniform ( I regret I didn’t get her name because she was the only cheerful waitress we encountered, the All American Diner had some belligerent sorts who yelled us down, but more on them later) took our orders down efficiently, and served us with elan. Palak Chat was the starter we ordered, which unfortunately had a slightly soggy base of not so crisp palak smothered under a curd and chatni mix. Fortunately, this was the only item that didn’t make the grade. The Chettinaad Chicken and Malabar Parothas that Monika and I shared were both airdropped from heaven. And the platter that Lemonicks ordered was sin plated to a T. In the most inelegant fashion we scrounged a bit off everyone’s orders to taste each item, and found everything superlative.

With solid nourishment in my belly, I was a happier person. As is evident from the photo above. We retired early because the rest of the team planned to do some early morning (read 5.45 am) nature trailing. I opted out. My everydays are made of 5.45 am alarms. And I was on holiday. Wild elephants threatening to stampede through my room would have been the only things that would have got me to rise before daybreak. And of course, Monika and I who were sharing the room, did the girly thing of chatting till the wee hours until we firmly decided that we had to go to sleep. Or risk waking like the living dead the next morning.

They nature trailed at a lovely retreat called Ekant which they all came back raving from. Next on the agenda, given we were a band of hungry women, was breakfast. We opted for the All American Diner which had a buffet on, with no sausages or cold cuts and a very belligerent waiter who almost yelled at Monika when she just mentioned at our table that it was strange that an All American Diner didnt have the mentioned items. We had another taste of the belligerency of the waiters at this place, later, at lunch (Which was again at the same restaurant), when a waiter insisted very aggressively that a slice of chocolate cake was the chocolate mousse I had ordered.

A quick drive around Lavasa, and to a centre where they had villagers make bamboo crafts, followed by a quicker lunch and we returned back to the fumes of city life where nostrils need to be drilled periodically to unclog them from the pollution that settles in.

My take away from the weekend, a lovely place. Visually. Perfect if you are the sort who wants a relaxed away from it all kind of break.  There are, we were told, watersports and adventure sports like rapelling and such like for those keen. Me, being not keen on them watersports or adventure sport, and with no option for shopping (being the kind of sport I prefer) was happy just with the company and the clean fresh air. Getting back to the fumes of the city and breathing through clogged nostrils took some acclimatisation when I returned.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And more on Lavasa…

  1. Phoenixritu says:

    Ahh, wish I had gone too. Sounds like a lovely weekend. Next time, God willing, one shall go and one shall yell at the aggressive waiter every day one is there. Did you get a photo of the Waiter-who-would-be-Old-Yeller?

    P.S. Old Yeller is a breed of dog which you dont want barking any where in your vicinity

    Like

  2. magiceye says:

    that was a lovely review!!
    loved the honesty!

    LOL. Its gets me into more trouble than I care.

    Like

  3. Pingback: And more on Lavasa… | Discover Lavasa

Leave a Reply

