So is it Happy Women’s Day today?

It is. Women’s Day has finally morphed from being a day where women announced their equality with man after aeons of being considered the second and therefore inferior sex to a Hallmark card day.

I don’t know whether to laugh or to cry.

Especially when I have some well meaning folks come up, grab me by the palm, shake said hand vigorously and wish me “Happy Women’s Day”.

Excuse me while I find a corner to barf uninhibitedly into.

I’m not even going to start on about how women in India have little to be happy about given the rate of sexual violence against women in India is amongst the highest in the world.

I’m not even going to mention how, in Haryana, bride price has skewed the gender equation completely after years of female infanticide and foeticide.

I’m just glossing over the fact that folks are flying abroad to have sex determination tests and MTPs to avoid having girls.

I’m putting the fact that except for the banking sector, I see very few professional women at the seniormost levels at major corporations at the back of my mind.

I’m taking for granted that every rural girl child has to struggle twice as hard to prove to her family that she along with her brother, deserves an education.

I’m thinking about her mother who spends her entire day collecting water for her family, working the fields, cooking meals over wooden stoves that line her lungs with soot, and who looks twice her age and puts herself last on the needs list of the family.

I’m thinking about all the women who get bashed up by the men in their lives and hold themselves together and stay back in the relationship because theyre too terrified to step out into the world without the suraksha kavach of the man in their lives.

And then I think about the woman pilot who lives in my building, and who is dapper and confident in her uniform much to the wide eyed open mouthed amazement of my seven year old.

I think about women like Chanda Kochchar, Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Indra Nooyi, who have proved to women striving in the professional world that yes, there is a glass ceiling, but it can be broken.

I think about the women who have adopted baby girls, despite being able to have their own biological children and salute them and the men in their lives who have had the courage to support them.

And I think about the women who have climbed every mountain, whether it is my maid bringing up her family on the money she earns scrubbing and sweeping or the woman who juggles family and home while she gives cracking presentations in conference rooms.

This isn’t Happy Womens Day. This is More Power to Women Day. And this should be our everyday.

I see the discounts on jewellery, the luncheons to treat the ‘woman in your life’, the special women’s day offers and wonder whether I got it wrong. Maybe I did. Not that I can ever complain about discounts and free lunches.

Anyway, I’m going to celebrate the day this evening. How? With my gang of girls of course.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So is it Happy Women’s Day today?

  1. faeriee says:

    Loved it. You said it !!

    Whatta coincidence – me wrote something on womens day too :

    http://faeriee.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/why-i-dont-like-womens-day/

    great minds and all that!

    Like

  2. Goofy Mumma says:

    I was thinking along the same lines today coincidentally. This day has become more of a candy floss day for women who are free, independent, modern, and somehow that completely takes away from the real issues that lie there. Cards, greetings… that is all that seems to be left of it.

    Absolutely. While I have no issues with the candyfloss, the fact is we still have miles to go before we sleep.

    Like

  3. momofrs says:

    Very well written.
    I’ve been a silent lurker for long but just delurked to say, I love your posts 🙂

    Now please stay delurked. 🙂

    Like

  4. Poet Mamma says:

    What you have said is very very true and quite hard hitting. But I do hope that beyond the cards and discounts, and frivolous parties, this day does make women (and hopefully men) think about these facts. Or women reach out to other women through different forums and share inspirational stories of courage, confidence and small victories. It does remind many that women do not have to be the victims or martyrs.

    Like your own wonderful posts on the occasion. 🙂 It is this day which prompted you and many others to think and write!

    That’s true, for that I should laud the day.

    Every day is a woman’s day. But the world forgets. And hence it helps to remind at least once a year!

    Like

  5. Sonia says:

    Well it’s my birthday and that’s why the day is special to me always – it feels like the hype around womens day has increased over the past five years or so…

    Like

  6. Pingback: Be a ‘Lady’ « Dew drop dreams through the looking glass

  7. Fons says:

    a bit late to give you my male support for TW day,

    just stumbled on your nice tweet about the bath in words of WTKD,

    wish you that that bath won’t get as stormy as it got for Beverly,

    anyway happy reading and if ever some time is left to share that reading, just have a look at forum tcboyle.com

    Like

  8. Pingback: Be a ‘Lady’ « Dew drop dreams through the looking glass

  9. sriraam says:

    Hi.. I totally agree that women have equal rights for space and freedom in this world.. But , something about the female foeticide.. Aren’t women equally responsible for killing their daughters in their womb? Ok.. I agree that they are forced to abort and all that.. But why don’t they abort their male foetus too ? …

    I think the gender bias , in regard to foeticide , is totally because of illiteracy.. Both male and female illiteracy.. And women are equally at fault for killing their unborn/born daughters….

    Like

  10. Sajeevs blog says:

    We are seeing today in India both exremes – highly successful women in position of CEOs, politics etc and at the other end you have girls who are sexually exploited, female infanticide etc. So it seems the benefits of education and governance are not reaching the poor. Else why the divide! By education and empowerment, we hope to see more women walk free with their head held high. Let us be the change that we want to see!

    Like

Leave a Reply

