I got an award, I got an award, I got an award…

Excuse me the excitement, it has been years since someone considered me worthy of being awarded anything except a tax refund. Ergo, allow me the pleasure of clicking my heels and doing a Jack Sparrow dance routine somewhere on my desk before I return to back to mother ship, and contain my rapidly beating heart.
The lovely Dipali awarded me this:

Mwuah, mwuah, mwuah, Dips, you’ve given me a purpose for living once again.
And I’m supposed to list out random facts about myself. Hmm. That’s a toughie, the world already knows every random fact about me there is to know, and I need to manufacture some new random facts pronto and make them believable.
Okay, here goes.
I hate to cook.
What, you all already knew that? Dont tell me. Let me try again.
I love to eat.
This one too? Gah. That sort of limits my options.
What about this one, I am lethal with a store sale and a credit card in my hand.
Old hat you say?
Erm, yet again, I can wolf down any quantum of chocolate and guaranteed not throw up.
*sigh* you guys are a jaded lot aren’t you.

Okay. Here are some brand new random facts.
I must, must, must wash my hair every single day. And no, its not because of the traditional definition of ‘washing your hair’ thank you.

I know exactly when someone has touched my things, even if they seem to be kept in no particular order.

I cannot, just cannot be polite or interact with people I dislike. I’m sorry.

I can read multiple books from multiple genres simultaneously, and feel no pain.

I can spend an entire day doing nothing absolutely and still feel tired.

I have a fetish about keeping my wardrobe organised by colour. Which of course, is primarily comprised of black. Which makes the organising easier.

I can watch my son sleeping for hours.

I have zero interest in housework. After a few days, the dust looks just the same.

God help anyone who wakes me from a deep sleep. Think of a kodiak bear being roused from hibernation. Yup. That’s the imagery that you need to keep when you if you’re around and I’m asleep.

I can eat sabudana khichdi twice a day, everyday for the rest of my life without complaint. If only someone would make it for me.

And I have to pass this award on: so my votes go to young Sue who blogs here http://www.sunayanaroy.blogspot.com and to the lovely Monika who blogs here http://www.monikamanchanda.wordpress.com.

Take it away girls.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I got an award, I got an award, I got an award…

  1. Kanchan says:

    Yaay to sabudana khichdi !! I married a guy and spawned a son who don’t like it… and I don’t have the motivation to cook only for myself. Come to blr and give me company and lets have a sabudana khichdi party 🙂

    Like

  2. Ruchira says:

    Ditto with the washing hair everyday and not being civil to people I dont like !
    But sabudana khcihdi – not such a great fan !

    Like

  3. Amrutha says:

    What exactly IS the traditional reason for washing hair? 😐

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Errm. Errm. That you had sex the previous night???? Ergo all the hindi movies with the women with washed hair giving water to tulsi…..

      Like

  4. Pepper says:

    Same pinch on all except the everyday hair washing. With my dry, frizzy hair, such regular washing would be a nightmare 😦 .. I am quite jealous of your lovely hair..

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      LOL. The lovely hair is an urban myth. It just photographs well. Otherwise, in the mater’s words, it always looks uncombed.

      Like

  5. I wash my hair almost everyday too. Weird question – what shampoo do you use?

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Whatever is lying around. LOL. Man’s shampoo. Kid’s Johnson Baby. Loreal red and white one. Charles Worthington. fructis. Kerastase something. Im a product slut. I keep using a diff shampoo everytime.

      Like

  6. Sue says:

    LOL Thanks, K. I too can do the simultaneous reading thing. Currently I’m reading a large-scale survey on the sexual fantasies of the British public (fascinating) alongside an M’n’B. Can switch from one to the other with no pain at all.

    (As for my comment before this, please delete it and ascribe it to a sleepless week. It’s not easy being owlish!)

    Like

  7. awww thank u lady K… I read many books at the same time too

    “I cannot, just cannot be polite or interact with people I dislike. I’m sorry” ditto I am known for being terribly undiplomatic

    and sabudana khichdi sigh u know i love it

    Like

  8. sukanya says:

    congratulations! you deserve this one and many more.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Awarded Twice over | Post 11 | Monika's World

  10. “I know exactly when someone has touched my things, even if they seem to be kept in no particular order.”

    Ditto. And I hate it if someone touches my things.

    “I cannot, just cannot be polite or interact with people I dislike. I’m sorry.”

    I was like this until I started working. Work changed everything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

