The Winners of the Vague Woman’s Contest…

As decided by Devapriya Roy, Author of The Vague Woman’s Handbook are Aneela Babar, MonikaManchanda, The Mad Momma, Ritu Lalit, Mona and Vanshika.
Here’s what Devapriya wrote (reposting it because it got lost in the looooooong comment trail on that post) and winners, please to mail Devapriya or me with your address. Better Devapriya, because, err, you know, I am vague:

Okay, this has been the very hardest thing I’ve done in a long long time. Wish I had copies for everyone – and wish more, we could all sit down together, gorge on coffee and cake and exchange stories of vagueness all night! Alas, geography impedes – but anyway – I’m imagining we’re doing this, over coffee and cake (oreo cheese cake, if I’m allowed to choose) in a virtual corner somewhere.

I’ll have you know, the shortlist included every single anecdote – each was so original. R’s Mom: I’ve done that myself – see, that’s exactly why the old rule that people were required to be silent while eating was golden. Vidya, I love the way how the key episode happens just as you’re returning from a class on ‘How to be Highly Effective’! CeeKay, have lost count of the number of times I’ve flooded the house! Writerzblock – one question: did you go back to the swimming class after that? Iya: that can’t have been pretty. I remember similar bloopers in the era when gmail forwards sometimes went to original sender too! Aatreyee, don’t blame you – the brother in concern is perfectly likely to be chatting to two beauties at a mall ;-) Chandni, we should really get Aunty to read the book, no? Jaya, long story shotened, recently, I left my laptop at the security check area of the Kolkata airport. When I rushed to retirieve it, the uniforms asked me if I could prove it was mine. I hemmed and hawed and panicked wildly. Finally, brainwave: told him, would it do, if I showed a photograph of the two of us? Took me ages and ages and ages to find a photo though though there are hundreds on the machine! Panu, I do love that answer – and shall quote you on matter if ever asked the same question on lit theory. Preethi – I can absolutely see you whooping Ganguly and rushing off to add the cutting to your precious collage; I’m sure the shopkeeper even called you back – but you were in a royal hurry, weren’t you? Jyoti, I have often subjected my f-i-l to that vague-glazed-eyes glance!

Shrabonti, Evie/Indira Sen, Dipali and Sue have all contributed hall of fame comments but am selfishly keeping them out of the list as they have all indicated they own copies of said book. After all, in this day and age of limited storage why should I take on the bad karma of adding to clutter in their book shelves ;-)

Himadridimri deserves a special badge of honour as the one who quickly demonstrated the true essence of a vague women. Single action being more eloquent than a thousand words.

Now, here goes. Mad Momma. For the entire lot of comments – I cannot quite pick out anyone :-)

Mona. Lovely comments but here’s the one which swings it ;-) . “i really, really want the book. pretty please? I’m really vague, i promise.” Vague Woman ought to say that, happily, proudly, often.

Monikamanchanda. 20K for 2K? That’s classic!

PhoenixRitu. The Haryana to Delhi to U.P. is definitely up there with the best!

Aneela Z. What can I say? Vagueness is the new feminism. No?

Now, of all the m-i-l stories, Vanshika’s is brilliant – and I love the matter of fact way she tells it. So a bonus prize for her!

Phew.

Now ladies, please mail me or Kiran your addresses – and the book shall reach you soon ;-) My email id is: roydevapriya@gmail.com.

Thank you Kiran for hosting this fabulous ten-day long party. Thank you all for joining the circle of vagueness. May it expand forever!

xo

About Kiran Manral

40 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Winners of the Vague Woman’s Contest…

  1. Kiran Manral says:

    Was completely my pleasure, Devapriya, hope to do this for your next book, inshallah…

    Like this

  2. Phoenixritu says:

    Loved the contest and loved the long list of comments. It was heartening to know that I am not the only one who makes such bloopers. And I won :D :D

    Like this

  3. Vanshika-Neelam Amarnani says:

    Wow I won I won I won I still can’t believe it my answer ws so non funny compared to d others stl I won thanx to devapriya roy for selecting my entry n for letting me knw y she choose it wow dis is so kewl dat I wonnnnn yeahhhh sorry I stl can’t get over it waiting for d book can’t control my excitement…

    Like this

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Vanshika, darling, what about sending in your address to Devapriya???? Itna bhi vagueness accha nahin hai!

      Like this

  4. Wow, she mentioned me :) he he seriously rather than writing I displayed my vagueness :( i was so embarrassed that I couldn’t think of something else then..:P Congratulations to the winners they were vague-est ;)

    Like this

  5. Writerzblock says:

    Congrats winners!!! The entries were really funny :-) and makes vagueness so interesting!

    *Inwardly sulks at not winning a copy :-(*

    @Devapriya: I haven’t gone back to the swimming class since!!! May be some day, I will muster the courage.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

