And booklovers, here’s a list for you…

How many of the books from this list have you read?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/bigread/top100.shtml

My tally is at 54, and I love that Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree is there. It was one of my favourite books through childhood, and I recently dug out my copy and offered it with great excitement to the child, who tossed it aside disdainfully.

On the list are many books which I began and discarded midway, like Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, Crime and Punishment by Dostoevesky. And some books which I truly felt had no business being there, but I’m not going to mention them publicly, seeing as they are quite popular amongst some folk.

My favourite books from this list, from the ones I have read? In no particular order, here goes:
Love In The Time Of Cholera, Gabriel García Márquez
Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding
The Godfather, Mario Puzo
A Tale Of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
The Magic Faraway Tree, Enid Blyton
Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
The Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkien
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams
The entire Harry Potter series
Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë
Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier

And the ones I must must read are:
The Great Gatsby, F Scott Fitzgerald
Far From The Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy
Animal Farm, George Orwell
Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh
Of Mice And Men, John Steinbeck
Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
On The Road, Jack Kerouac

What’s on your list of favourites and must reads?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to And booklovers, here’s a list for you…

  1. Prof. Aloke Kumar says:

    List of favourites :

    The Library of Babel : Jorge Luis Borges
    The Book of Disquiet : Fernando Pessoa
    Love In The Time Of Cholera : Gabriel García Márquez
    The Godfather: Mario Puzo
    Blindness : Jose Saremago
    Gitanjali : Rabindranath Tagore
    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe :C. S. Lewis
    Il Nome della Rosa (The Name of the Rose):Umberto Eco
    Wild Swans:Jung Chang
    The Plague:Albert Camus
    Three Penny Opera : Bertold Brecht
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory:Roald Dahl
    The Upanishad
    Das Capital : Karl Marx

    and many more …….

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Prof: Thank you for reminding me that I need to read Gitanjali, maybe I should do it this month for the bookclub since we have Tagore as a theme.

      Like

  2. orramoon says:

    I have read till now

    Are you there God! Judy Blumes
    Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
    Night at the call center
    Two states…………….Chetan Bhagat
    That thing called Love. Tuin Sinha
    Men are from Mars & Women are from venus

    I’m reading these days

    Inscrutable Americans

    Must Must read list
    A Hermit in the Himalayas. Paul Brunton
    God of small things
    All the books of Dan Brown
    The Secrets. Rhonda Byrne
    PS. I love you

    Hii Maam M Akanksha I recently started reading ur blogs coz m new to blogger’s world…but loved ur blog

    Like

  3. sscribbles says:

    My fav’s would include:

    The Lord of the Rings, JRR Tolkien
    Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
    To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
    Wuthering Heights, Emily Brontë
    The Catcher in the Rye, JD Salinger
    Little Women, Louisa May Alcott
    Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell
    One Hundred Years Of Solitude, Gabriel García Márquez
    Far From The Madding Crowd, Thomas Hardy
    A Suitable Boy, Vikram Seth
    The Thorn Birds, Colleen McCollough
    Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding
    The God Of Small Things, Arundhati Roy
    The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
    Love In The Time Of Cholera, Gabriel García Márquez

    And I surely want to read Animal Farm, Anna Karenina, War and Peace and catch-22.

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      S: Except for The God of Small Things, I think we have the same list almost, and yes, the Alchemist. Love all the rest.

      Yes, Animal Farm, believe it or not, is on my to read list.

      Like

  4. I think Enid Blyton’s Faraway Tree is the first book among these that I read as a kid. I love that book too.

    Like

  5. Rebecca is my all time favourite and the entire Enchanted wood series..i can;t believe that kids nowadays haven’t read Enchanted wood 😦

    Like

  6. Meera says:

    You must must read ‘Anne of Green Gables’. I remember it from a lovely summer a couple of decades ago 🙂

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Meera: Let me try get my hands on it.

      Like

      • Suba says:

        the entire set of 8 Anne books by L.M.Montgomery are wonderful.. I have read and re read them so many times.

        and the enchanted wood series.. Enid Blytons fantasies are just too good.. not to mention the wishing chair and the host of goblin/fairy tales she wrote..Malory Towers and St Clares.. i can go on and on…

        Like

      • Kiran Manral says:

        I must get these Anne books. Thank you!

        Like

  7. Kanchan says:

    I couldn’t get through God of Small Things either! Everyone just kept gushing about it, so I couldn’t say it out loud 😉 My favs from the list would be –
    Gone with the Wind
    His Dark Materials
    A Town Like Alice
    Magician (Empire and Riftwar series by Feist)
    Anna Karenina
    Bridget Jones
    The Alchemist (yes, I know )
    Harry Potter series (again, yes !! )
    All Jane Austen ones

    (Btw, how did Memoirs of Geisha get into this list?)

    And outside this list, plenty, current fav being Ashok Banker’s Ramayana series.

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Kanchan: I’ve never been shy of stating I dislike something even if the world feels it is great. Take a lot of flak for it, like I did when I said Inception was overhyped.
      The Ramayana series is something Ive been meaning to read, thank you for reminding me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

