Did you know your skin had a personality?

I didn’t.
Yet the good people at Nivea assure me it has. And they’ve checked 8,000 people across many countries to come to this conclusion.
And what they have found out is that there are five different skin personalities, and yes, mine definitely would be the one who is the attention seeking, dancing on the table tops variety.
What? No, that’s not one of their skin types? Ah well, its mine. And it throws temper tantrums too, breaking out whenever miffed with something in the universe.
So what are the five skin personalities? I would have thought, ‘Smooth as Hema Malini’s cheeks in keeping with Laloo’s promise for the roads of Bihar’, “Angry and virulent like the Cauldron in Macbeth”, “Can’t make up my mind whether to behave or not, call me temperamental”, “Thank god I chose great parents skin” and ‘Take that world, I dont care for sunscreen and night cream.”
No?
And of those, mine would be in a category all its own, which is defined as, “I think I am a patchwork quilt, texturised with pimple scar pits and wrinkles’.
So, what has this skin survey found?
The survey found a clear correlation between our self-perception and the perception we have of our skin. Ergo if you think you’re the bees knees, you will think your skin is the best thing since sliced bread. Or something of the sort. Ah, well, I get my metaphors mixed these days. Call it ageing. Shortening of them telomeres or something. Which also has to do a lot with where my skin is going these days, but never mind that.
The five skin personalities according to the brand are the “Doer”, the “Thinker”, the “Helper”, the “Seeker” and the “Moralist”. Of this, they say the doer is around 30 per cent of the population and is the largest category. Funny, I would have thought the largest category would be the Moralists, given that every second I meet, including me myself is prone to proselytizing given an opportunity and an audience.
But no, the moralists are the smallest group of them all, at six percent, and the cheerful helpers are at a great big 11 per cent. Also surprising, given that whenever one needs help with simple stuff, one looks left and right and barely finds any willing volunteers.
Seriously though, skins with personality? Whodathotofit? I wonder why skins couldnt have the normal sort of personality types we are familiar with, you know, extrovert, introvert, aggressive, outgoing, Type A, Type B. There’s only so much brainwidth I have to remember stuff.
I think my skin would be a moralist, given that it stares at me clucking its metaphoric tongue every morning, when I look at self, bleary eyed and jowl faced in the mirror. And I can almost hear it commenting acerbically on what do I expect if I dont get a facial done in years (the last was I think some four years ago), nor invest in a good skin care regimen, nor eat the healthy green stuff. yup. My skin is a moralist. I can see disapproval oozing out of its every pore. Err, what? That’s called sebum? Well. If you insist.
What is your skin’s personality type?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Did you know your skin had a personality?

  1. myamusingmind says:

    WOW thats interesting and did they tell how do we figure that out 🙂

    Like

  2. Great post! When I first saw that news article, I scanned the entire page searching for the Whats Your Skin Type Quiz…and I was disappointed cause I found none. I tried to read it, but call it ADHD, I could never go through the entire page of it. So am glad I found your post that summarized it for me.
    This study does remind me of those whats your Skin ID ads – and when I took that evaluation online, I got a different skin ID every time. LOL

    Like

  3. Sangitha says:

    Hilarious. Really enjoyed the post. Off to cleanse pores to unearth skin to ask him/her what his/her personality it! ;-D

    Like

  4. sukanyabora says:

    not sure why my comments are not showing up on karmic kids.had left one yesterday but i dont see it..read your latest on brats evaluation and sending your way all the strength and fortitude you need.
    he will shine, no matter what because he is blessed with parents like you.
    hang in there , friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

