All blocked up and no, its not what you’re thinking.

It had to happen sometime. I find myself writing less fun stuff and more for the cheques. I rush to churn out the required word limits, and get all the quotes in and structure stories appropriately. I chalk my day down to how many features I have been able to churn out per day, and ergo, how much income have I generated for myself in the course of that particular working day.
Only to find myself now, not able to write for fun, as I used to be able to do. The words don’t flow. The thoughts are there, but I feel disinclined to put them down. Laziness? You would think. Nope. I’m putting it down to a serious writer’s block. For a writer this can be crippling. And hey look, I’m not even trying to joke about this, because my heart is shattering into a billion pieces even thinking about it. Because, if I don’t write, then what am I? I have built up my entire sense of identity through my writing work, and not the writing for an income work but the writing for fun stuff that I do, which has you good folks come here to read me. And today, I literally have nothing to say. And yes, it has taken me 200 plus words to say that, so I guess, I’m not really losing my touch.
I’d also put it down to a reading overload. I’ve been doing some really heavy duty reading recently. Too much serious stuff. It takes its toll. I get serious. I start hearing violins in the background to my every thought. I start moping in classic poses, draping myself over pieces of furniture in carefully constructed angst. I need to run to gods like Dave Barry and Douglas Adams and PG Wodehouse and Jerome K Jerome. I need to impose a moratorium on myself for the bread and butter writing. I also need to take one of them chill pills that everyone keeps talking about.
Ergo, I have cracked the whip on self in most un-chill pill manner and told self that I need to post. Today. No matter what. Even if I post total tripe (due apologies). I need to know that off days are okay, but discipline in posting needs to continue. And I need to be more forgiving of myself. It is okay if I’m having an off phase, isn’t it? I can allow myself some down days. I need to do more inspirational things to bring back the joy in writing again. Let me just wander off in pensive thought to think up what it is I could do to make myself want to write again.
Meanwhile I have two incomplete manuscripts staring me in my face, and no inclination to touch them. Maybe I really need that cottage in the woods (with uninterrupted power supply and a computer and broadband connection and takeaway on call, or efficient cook housed on the premises, I am nothing if not practical) to run away to for a few months and gets these written out. Ah well, a girl can dream can’t she?

About Kiran Manral

Kiran Manral is a writer and major social media influencer. After quitting her full-time journalist’s job when her son was born, Kiran became a mommy blogger on the internet, with a remarkably original voice. She was a journalist at The Asian Age, The Times of India, features editor Cosmopolitan, India Cultural Lead and Trend spotter at Gartner Iconoculture US, Senior Consultant at Vector Insights, Ideas Editor, SheThePeople.TV. Kiran is currently a celebrated author and an independent research and media consultant. She was shortlisted for the Femina Women Awards for Literary Contribution in 2017. The Indian Council of UN Relations (ICUNR) supported by the Ministry of Women and Children, Govt of India, awarded her the International Women’s Day Award 2018 for excellence in the field of writing. In 2021 she was awarded the Womennovator 1000 Women of Asia award. In 2022, she was named amongst the 75 Iconic Indian women in STEAM by Red Dot Foundation and Beyond Black, in collaboration with the Office of the Principal Scientific Advisor, Government of India, and British High Commission, New Delhi. Her novella, Saving Maya, was long-listed for the 2018 Saboteur Award, supported by the Arts Council of England in the UK. Her novels 'The Face At the Window’ and ‘Missing, Presumed Dead were both long-listed for Jio MAMI Word to Screen, and ‘The Face at the Window’ was showcased at the South Asian Film Festival 2019. The Kitty Party Murder was shortlisted for the Popular Choice award at the 2021 JK Papers TOI AutHER awards. Her other books include The Reluctant Detective, Once Upon A Crush, All Aboard, Karmic Kids-The Story of Parenting Nobody Told You, A Boy’s Guide to Growing Up, True Love Stories, 13 Steps to Bloody Good Parenting, Raising Kids with Hope and Wonder in Times of a Pandemic and Climate Change, More Things in Heaven and Earth and Rising: 30 Women Who Changed India. She also has published short stories in various magazines, in acclaimed anthologies like Have A Safe Journey, Boo, The Best Asian Speculative Fiction 2018, Grandpa’s Tales, Magical Women and City of Screams. Kiran lives in Mumbai with her family. Social media handles Twitter: https://twitter.com/KiranManral Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kiranmanral/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KiranManralAuthorPage Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kiranmanral/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All blocked up and no, its not what you’re thinking.

  1. Serendipity says:

    //wander off in pensive thought
    Made me think of The Daffodils. Small throwback to school days 😛

    //And yes, it has taken me 200 plus words to say that, so I guess, I’m not really losing my touch.
    It doesn’t look like you have a writer’s block at all 😀

    Like

  2. sukanyabora says:

    “draping myself over pieces of furniture in carefully angst” he he he!
    and you call this writer’s block??? 🙂
    doesnt matter how much or what you churn out, i always enjoy reading your work.
    but i think i can empathize with you for I am struggling too at this point and i am not even a writer!

    Like

  3. Sujatha Ramesh says:

    Is your family ok Kiran?
    take care…

    Like

  4. Anjali says:

    Wow…if this is the product of a writer’s block…your actual work should be worthy of a pulitzer…really !!
    I guess it’s just something you think is happening, but may not be in reality, coz we don’t seem to see it in your work…
    And, yea a little getaway could do wonders….if you fit one in….:)

    Like

  5. Kanchan says:

    You just need a break…maybe a trip to Kerala, lazing in the boats – ready made food, but eh no internet connection.

    *runs off searching for some old Dave Barry columns in Miami Herald*

    Like

  6. Aneesha says:

    I need that book from you this year Kiran. I just know it’ll be brilliant. I read such crap books from half baked writers and wonder how they get published and there’s you, who is just waiting to explode!! xoxo

    Like

  7. you need a break………..ok

    Like

  8. Manasi says:

    Wow if you write like this when you have writer’s block you really have nothing to worry about. Loved this post!

    Like

  9. Poet Mamma says:

    🙂 This is nothing to worry about. While you wait for the big inspiration to come to you for the project of your dream, here is an idea for a little tidbit that can keep us readers entertained.

    http://poetmamma.blogspot.com/2011/07/saga-of-overrated-domestic-help.html

    This is am issue which bothers most like me. I got many many comments on this on my social network circuit. I would be interesting to hear your take.

    A tag perhaps for a post on this? No pressure of course.

    Like

Leave a comment