Time for a move

It was barely four years ago that we shifted into this house, with much fanfare. A huge grihpravesh. Lunch for all the invitees who went over 100 I think. Now it is time to move again.
My heart is breaking into a million tiny pieces as I write this. A house is not just brick and cement and wall and tile and false ceiling and built in wardrobes. A house is memories, of friends made, of good and bad times lived in it, of love and laughter, of tears and heartbreak.
I’ve lived a nomadic life all my childhood. With my father being in a bank job, we kept shifting quarters, and when he passed away, my mother and I kept shifting homes. Shifting should be second nature to me, you would think. But no. I always hated it. It kept uprooting me, I would barely settle down in a place and make friends around me, and it would be time to move on. I don’t have a single friend today I am in touch with from my childhood, of course, ours was the pre cell phone, pre internet era, where one had to physically do face to face meet ups to stay in touch.
I so wanted my child to grow up with the same set of friends. But that is not to be. We move to a new house in the same suburb. It is as lovely, if not lovelier than the current one, with the same sweeping view out to the sea and the same westfacing, windblown charm, a lovely complex with everything we could need from club house, gymnasium (which I so need to use), swimming pool, tennis courts and such like. But I will have to leave behind the wonderful 4 am friends I had. The conversations every evening while walking around the park, the get togethers, the lunches, the dinners, the handholdings, the heart to hearts, the girl gang outings, the moral support, the caring. I move. But I will leave a little piece of me here.

About Kiran Manral

40 and battling flab, wrinkles and grey hair. Fighting a losing battle with the weighing scale. Living with the two loves of my life, my husband and my son. Serial buffet offender and reformed shopaholic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time for a move

  1. Ruchira says:

    but then why are you leaving this house and moving ! I can understand the sentiments .. i hate moving !

    Like this

  2. I can understand your predicament Kiran, But then moving ,if it is for better,is always good..I can understand your feelings since I have gone thro all this ,except in my case it was change of city and not only suburb as you say…Take things in your stride and yes keep writing….All the Best for the New Change….

    Like this

  3. Divs says:

    Aw…hugs! I know how you feel…but have no words to help. Why r u moving though?

    Like this

  4. That sounds a lot like graduating and moving out of a hostel. I feel for you, lady!

    I long for the day when I’ll feel the same way about having to move. Ever since I turned adult, every place has felt so………transient. I might just have to buy a house to get that feeling!

    Like this

  5. Sue says:

    *hugs*

    Like this

  6. Lucky are the places scattered with pieces of K. Go forth, hon. Other places will love you and want you too. Bear hug. I can only guesstimate how hard this is for you.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

