And I attended a tweet-up…

Yes, you heard that right. Don’t clean out that ear wax, metaphorically speaking, or polish your eyeballs. Yes, I did. Me, the scaredy cat, the public situation wallflower, the hide behind a pillar (if there is a pillar wide enough in the vicinity that is to do the job), the retreat into my plate of food, the stand in a corner and look seriously standoffish person, actually attended a tweet up. With many many people in attendance. It was enough to make me want to run squealing in terror from the door of the restaurant itself.
For some backgrounder. Two very popular Delhi twitter personalities, @surekhapillai and @twilightfairy were in Mumbai over the weekend and the goddess of all networking in Mumbai, @netra (Netra Parikh in the real world) had organised a tweet up in Bandra for them. A dear friend, @priyankac19 was to attend and she was Very Very Insistent I come too. Given that we must officially be the Twiddledeedee and Twiddledeedum of the online world, I half agreed and then kind words by other attendees convinced me for the remainder to get my self togged out and present at the venue.
And I’m glad I made it. I did get to meet a number of people whom I would have never ever have got the opportunity to meet given my social life revolves around school, home, office and occasionally the super exciting task of going to a supermarket and getting groceries enough to keep body and soul together for the duration of a week, after which this exercise needs to be rinse repeated.
So we landed with a merry throng already present, and the bar buzzing. The first familiar face I spotted was that of Sachin Kalbag, Editor Midday (@SachinKalbag on twitter), a person I respect immensely, and it gave me hope that there would be other familiar faces around whom I would feel comfortable chatting with. And he had with him his very chirpy wife, Prajakta and the cuteness personified Aanya, who kept us all entertained in our efforts to keep her entertained. And of course, there was the organiser supremo, Netra, chic in red and white polka dots, the God of the Mumbai twitterati, the larger than life Anaggh Desai (@anaggh), an adman from Bangalore (@Bhatnaturally), young guns (@venkatananth, @Shubhashish), the bubbly @chicalit, Karishma Upadhyay (@karishmau) and her hubby Vishal Nongbet (@nongbetspeak), food blogger Kalyan Karmakar (@finelychopped) who was introduced virtually to me by dear friend from Bangalore, Monika Manchanda. And met with twitter legends like Surekha Pillai, Priyanka Sachar, Harini Calamur, Sudha Kanugo and of course, @B50 for whom the conversation stopped when he entered to much rousing whistling and cheering.
My natural wallflower-ness kicked in 15 minutes into the meet and I fled to a remote table to hide behind a menu. Some folks were kind enough to come to me to make conversation, and I’m grateful they did. The next tweet up, I’m so going to fortify myself with some alcohol before I land there. I might even end up dancing on the tables. That’s if gather up the courage to attend another.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And I attended a tweet-up…

  1. Sudatta says:

    Lol I never do tweet-ups which involves more than 4-5 people. Too complicated. I get all silenced by the jabbering of about 20 people or so. And trust me no alcohol will help you 😀 you’ll find more weirdos, drunk to amuse you 😀 But atleast you went! I always boycott them.

    Like

  2. Parul says:

    That’s great, Kiran. I am sure you got mobbed too and are not telling the true story.

    Am I weird if I keep forgetting about Twitter?

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Nah. No mobbing happened. There were twitter greats there P. I’m a Johnny (Jane?) come lately on the twitter scene.

      Like

Leave a Reply

