Shifting done, I have mega biceps

For someone who has shifted home one zillion times in her life, or to be honest, some 12 odd times, I am amazingly inefficient at it. To be honest though, the majority of the moves happened when I was but a wee chile and the packing, physical transportation of goods and stuff, and the settling in was done by the mater and the pater and all one had to do was ride in the front of the truck with the pater, feeling much like Columbus would have felt when it came to chancing upon new lands, which would have them confront Native Americans which they would euphemistically name Red Indians. Ah well, I digress. My last move was four years ago, and from a couple of suburbs away. That move was nerve wracking because, it was the first move I did in fifteen years. Thankfully, I had help and the invalued support of a darling SIL who helped me keep my sanity through it all.
This time round, except for the actual physical lugging of stuff from Home A to Home B via the truck and tempo, I had my own hands and feet to rely on. First things, the spouse refused to call a packers and movers. Ergo, all the packing, sorting, sifting was done by mine own two dainty hands. I kissed my manicure good bye. Sadly. And got down to the task at hand. After I had finished carefully wrapping and packing my fifth drum full of crockery and glassware I was set to take a hammer to them all, but sanity prevailed and I rushed myself to the refrigerator and ate some dark chocolate to quell the sudden destructive urge overcoming me. And then there was the junk.The junk. The junk. The junk that tumbled out of drawers, out of hidden corners, the infinite junk that had me gasping in nightmares of being drowned in them, much like that Harry Potter scene where the Horcrux in the vault has to be got through some evil multiplying hex which threatens to drown the valiant Hogwart’s students in brassware. I threw out some of the junk. Gave away some more. And there was still more. And my books. Gunny bag upon gunny bag were filled and there still remained more. Books. Books. Books. I left behind half because I couldn’t carry them all. And strangely, felt quite liberated at the thought of leaving behind some of them. Paulo Coelho and Robin Sharma, I fess up, were among the unfortunates who were abandoned cruelly.
The truck made a few trips in order to take all our stuff. Who would have thought one accummulated so much stuff in barely four years of living in one place. And was it a statement of concern that I actually had more bags with my shoes and handbags and books than actual wearable everyday clothes? I definitely am slipping in the wardrobe department, I need to get back into the stores shrieking violently, with debit card held aloft during sales. Did I mention I only shop during sales now? No? New policy after many maxed out credit cards. And yes, only via Debit card.
For the first day we lived like refugees, scrounging and scavenging for everything from a soap to tea leaves. The second day had the kitchen set up. And by the fourth day most of the house was settled. Two weeks down now, except for my bedroom, which still needs the wardrobes done, the house is fairly settled and feels lived in. Strangely enough, I do not miss the old place at all. Except for the friends I left behind.
What I got out of the shifting process, the confidence that I can now handle anything. Anything. And be organised about it. And some grey hair along the hairline. Ah well, will just consider that my trophy.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shifting done, I have mega biceps

  1. #We can very well understand, How difficult it would have been for COLUMBUS then, since WE live in d 21st Century, with everything Automatic …!
    Abandoned BOOKS could have been handed-over to LIBRARIES …!!
    Grey-Hair along d Hair-Line, is Ur TROPHY … this is d TRUTH n Crux, i liked
    most … which many SHY away-with …!!!

    Chandra ……

    Like

  2. butsandifs says:

    Smart movers gift a lot of junk to friends. Unfortunately I realize this everytime I shift that I have been at the receiving end of this deal. We moved home on 31st Dec & clinked glasses at midnight while trying to organize the unpacked mess left by Packers & Movers. P & M aren’t meant to be settlers even in the remotest sense. I learned it the hard way! For 1week, we survived a stinking kitchen to realize that the contents of the freezer had been packed along with the unpacked crockery cartons inside bubble wraps & labeled ‘Fragile- Handle with Care’

    Like

  3. Diligent Candy says:

    🙂 well done!

    Like

  4. vinusv says:

    Gift the books to me!!! 😛

    Well, hope it was worth all the effort.

    Like

  5. Divya says:

    I am taking your books if you are giving away any!!

    Love
    A greedy child

    Like

Leave a Reply

