Review : My Bollywood Wedding

My Bollywood Wedding
By Rekha Waheed
Published by Hachette
Rs 295/-

I am a fan of chicklit. I mean, I love frothy with a capital F and can dish it out too. Which is why this novel was a great choice I thought to break my self imposed sabbatical from reading, a sabbatical which began when I shifted homes and was too stressed out with the shifting process to be able to concentrate on reading. It took me a month or so to get my nerves calmed down enough to stop bouncing off the walls, and sit in one place long enough to read a book.
And so I chose this, along with another book a friend, Naomi Dutta, had written, to ease back into the reading habit. (I read many books at a time, it is a rare book I read straight through from start to end without breaking up the reading process with another book).
The story, like most chicklit novels with a wedding in the title is about a wedding. Maya Malik, a painter, who we are told is fabulously talented, has done the unthinkable for a BritAsian woman and proposed to the handsome, rich Jhangir Khan and he accepts. So begins the story of how she struggles to get her wedding together through family feuding, tight budgets, complicated social mores, infinite functions, the dictats of social propriety and such like. In the midst of all this, there’s the usual spanner in the wheels with a bitchy vamp like bhabhi, family intrigue, loads of shopping, some girl bonding and some serious moments when the relationship seems to be lost.
There are some serious editing errors in terms of Bollywood actor and movie names and spellings, which one would have expected should have not even been there at first draft level. This is a fun read, nonetheless. Despite all the errors.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

