So. This is winter in Mumbai.

I sit here, in my office. With the airconditioning on at full blast, dressed in what could be politely termed as a ganji. A banian. A vest. you get the drift. And jeans of course. I step out into the surroundings, uncooled by the airconditioning and wilt much in the manner of asparagus left neglected. It is mid December. The temperature, as the newspapers tell me, is at 35 degrees Celsium at the maximum and at 20 degrees Celsius at the minimum. This 20 degrees Celsius must come by sneakily and pass within a fraction of a second because there is no moment when I feel it dropping to the vicinity of anywhere around the twenties. Yup. We sleep now with the fan on. The airconditioning having been carted off for repairs, gas leak and such wonderful things which have the bedroom double up as sauna during the nights.
Friends in Northern climes are griping about frostbite and digits turning blue and falling off. Other friends drive me crazy talking about the wonderful sweaters and stoles and shawls they don and the boots they wear, with the stilettoes and such other cruel things that one can never dream of getting into in this city for fear of ending up a sweat bomb and causing asphixation of all those within a mile of me.
Is this winter? Have the weather gods goofed real bad? Is this global warming now on toast? If this is our winter, I’m resigning from this city before summer sets in and escaping to the mountains, to live in a wood cabin, with a log fire cackling away merrily while I type out two words before the electricity fails and we are plunged into darkness.
This morning as we drove into the office, circa 8 am, the elderly people on the streets taking their morning constitutionals had draped themselves in their woollies. Some of them even had mufflers and stoles. I looked at them with pure envy and turned the car AC upto three. And yes, it is functioning perfectly well, having just returned from a complete service top to toe, thanks to the super bang up enroute to Goa.
Meanwhile, I wait for a clear indication from the weather gods as to when I can bring my suitcase with them woollies down from the loft. Maybe, I need to go to the North to actually get any use out of them this year.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to So. This is winter in Mumbai.

  1. Tathagat says:

    You are indeed lucky. Here in chennai, I am roaming like a guy roams in summer in delhi.

    Like

  2. *This is not the first time its happening, it happens every year with days warmer n saltery & nights cooler than normally would …!
    * The winds in the NORTH isin’t blowing towards the South via West, so this
    happens …!!
    *The minimum temp. towards Pune, Talegaon, Lonavala would b 5 degrees
    lower than in Mumbai with less humidity, i think the ‘humidity’ factor is highest in Mumbai compared to cities off the coasts, so is “this winter in Mumbai”…!!!
    reg.,
    Chandra …….

    Like

  3. Pepper says:

    I crave for such hot and sultry weather. I miss Mumbai the most in Dec- Jan. California at this time is a lil too chilly for my liking. Guess what they say about the grass being greener on the other side is true 🙂

    Like

  4. me too missing winter 😦

    Like

  5. Kyosuke says:

    I live in a fridge and right now I would take a sauna in a heartbeat! And I know I will regret it a minute later!

    Like

  6. Abha Midha says:

    HI Kiran….. u have been nominated for Versatile Blogger Award.

    Check this out: http://www.smilewidabha.com/2011/12/versatile-blogger-award.html

    Like

  7. Wow, sound like a nice time in Mumbai, and Chennai too.
    Hyderabad is cold at 14-15:-) and we are all having throat infections.

    Like

  8. Jyothi says:

    Yes Hyderabad is cold ! Love that I can hide myself under cardigans :-).And hope the weather stays this way for at least next couple of months, so that all the money spent on sweaters and stoles are justified !!

    Like

  9. Bangalore is cold now. Not very very cold, but pleasantly cold. Loving the weather here these days. 🙂

    Like

  10. Ruchira says:

    “And I know that a girl who reads is one who lives through many lives, who has an imagination that is greater than what life has given her ” – well said Kiran, very well said !
    As another voracious reader, I agree wholeheartedly !

    Like

Leave a Reply

