It’s the end of the year

2011. Am glad to see the back of you. You were quite a bitch of a year. Truly. 2012. You had better behave yourself. I’ve had quite enough with you years steadily going downhill, year on year.
Like every year I must start this year making some sort of resolutions. Seeing as my resolutions to eat healthy, lose weight and get in shape remain standard at the start of every year, I’m not even mentioning that. That’s a given. These are resolutions over and beyond those that I might actually want to try following. Like spending less time on social media like twitter. Ah, I must find me something else that is fun and interactive to substitute Twitter and Facebook (which in all honesty, is not much fun anymore) and be done with these two time vampires of my current existence.
Right now, these, I think are my official new year resolutions:
To go on a healthy eating, dieting and exercise binge and become a stick insect who doesn’t need to huff and puff and wriggle and squirm and do the snake dance in order to get into clothes that seemed perfect fits when purchased. Since this has been standard resolution for years on end, I can safely pack this into the suitcase of good intentions, file, forget and move on to the next resolution.
This is a biggie. To find purpose to my life. For the past eight odd years, the purpose to my life has been intrinsically tied up with the child, now that the fellow is showing burgeoning signs of independence, wiping kisses on the face with the back of his hand and generally insisting on walking down busy roads without holding one’s hand, I am feeling all purposeless and deprived of a valid reason for my existence, ergo, finding a purpose to my life is a must in this forthcoming year. And no shopping is not it.
I am going to sit in bed every night and decide what I will wear the next day so as to be poised and elegant and coordinate and not channel Steve Jobs and wear black and denim every single day of my life, and pretending it is a sartorial statement when in fact it is clinching evidence of the fact that I am a lazy dimwit who couldn’t be bothered to go a layer beneath what is on the top of the shelves. And I will endeavour to change jewellery occasionally. At this rate the earrings are going to have skin grown over them and will to be cut out from body when they need to chuck me into the electric fire.
And in order to make myself a better, more organised person, I am going to make lists. I’m going to list out the tasks I need to achieve everyday, like articles due in, gas cylinder refills to be booked, veggies to be bought, provisions to be purchased, bills to be paid, etc so we don’t end up eating meals cooked over a single match flame and eaten in candlelight given I have forgotten about bill paying deadlines or stocking up the larder. I am that disorganised.
This year, my aim is also to morph into that mythic mother from those commercials who is ever smiling and happy faced (looking suspiciously like she is on illegal substances, snorted off from the kitchen counter) as she whips up culinary exotica on demand while her happy family grins and bangs spoons on their plates in a hungrily affable sort of way. In real life situation, this affable banging of plates with spoons in hunger might cause me to move menacingly with sharp knife towards said hungry souls. But no, my new resolution is to move miles away from current status of having every takeaway joint in the neighbourhood on my speed dial in case the cook decides to bunk.
But since all sensible people do say that one has to keep one’s new year resolutions realistic, this new found kitchen goddesshood will be achieved with the help of a pantry full of ready to cook packs of various edible items, which have dummy proof instructions on the side which go no further than two sentences which state: Boil two cups of water and add all ingredients from packet when water is boiling. Stir.
And I’m going to take things easier in 2012. Now that I know the world just might end in 2012, I might as well let the grass grow under my feet, metaphorically speaking. So. What are your resolutions for 2012?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s the end of the year

  1. Jyothi says:

    great resolutions ..err..tasks you have set yourself upto! All the very best for it πŸ™‚ Coming to me, my one and only ,single and steady resolution from the past ‘n’ number of years is to lose weight and consume a healthy diet. Have to get past that to even think of other resolutions !

    Like

  2. vaidegi j says:

    loved the write up! πŸ™‚
    yep, so the next year is all set to roll in. sometimes give the creeps! πŸ™‚
    well, mine would be to – focus on few things, and not engage in multi-thinking and multi-tasking, with abandon gay! finish sections chosen before zooming on to the next one, in all fields!
    – try to tidy up home, regularly, and not frantically and angrily.
    – read more.

    Like

  3. Kalyan says:

    to find purpose, to be organised…yes I’d like to borrow those…or find Jeeves

    Like

  4. Loved this post! πŸ™‚ All the best with your resolutions!

    My new year resolutions:

    1. To improve my knowledge of national and international affairs.
    2. To give some much-needed time to myself.
    3. Travel.
    4. Learn more recipes.
    5. Improve on the career front.
    6. Read better books.
    7. Watch better films.
    8. Save and invest more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

