It has been one of those weeks….

…it started actually, ten days ago. Dear friend Parul, bestselling author of Bringing Up Vasu and By The Watercooler called up, and said, without further preamble, “Do you know your book is on flipkart?”
Now the book had been written and despatched over a year ago to the publishers, and accepted and being worked on, and so much time had elapsed since then, that I had all but forgotten about it. I squealed a little and tried to get on the site via trusted Blackberry and given the fantastic network issues in my home, Airtel, if you asked, said page didn’t load until the cows came home and then Parul called again. “Do you know it’s on Indiaplaza?” I screeched a bit more and called the spouse demanding he return immediately this very second bearing laptop. Yes, some issues with the computer at home and Hathway modem not functioning and such like.
Kind friends online happily sourced the links for me and things took a life of their own. Links were pasted up on status updates and tweets, orders placed and much merriment in the online world. The craziness started the next day. I had no copy in my hand yet. The spouse called up his book supplier at Bookzone in VT and asked if he had copies. They had ordered two they said. The spouse, god bless him, did some yelling and asked him to order more, stating this was written by his wife and they had better sell lots of copies and order more copies and send the ones they had in hand to him pronto. Peon from office was despatched to procure said copies and he returned, bearing four.
Now, the book has a pretty cover. Beautifully designed by Mishta Ray, girl, if we ever meet I owe you lunch. I confess the hands shook a bit as I held the book. That moment when you’re handed your newborn after they’ve cut you up and pulled him out, or after you’ve pushed and yelled for the better part of the day to get him out, and you look at the blood covered, wrinkled, creature looking nothing like a human, from whatever angle you choose to look at him, and yet there is that sense of achievement and pride and sudden responsibility, yes, that moment happened. Along with the realisation, sudden horror, that damn, I am now responsible for this. And yes, the book shared the same pinkness like above mentioned newborn, making it seem as helpless.
The past week has been hectic and it promises to get even more hectic. For one there has been a marathon blogathon to coordinate–so many wonderful bloggers have kindly consented to post about my book on their blogs, am truly, choked up overwhelmed. Then the tweets about the book. And such like.
So. Good people. The book is out. All links to the book buying sites on the right hand bar in this blog http://www.thereluctantdetectivebook.blogspot.com

And as of today, it’s reached the top releases on Flipkart. And of course, I get to know this again through Parul who is now officially my eyes and ears for this book, given that I’m on cottoncandy clouds most of the times. So. Have you bought your copy yet?

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It has been one of those weeks….

  1. hey hi…bought and read your book already…:)
    i follow your blog regulary, and the book was nothing but a very interesting and fun read!!

    i love the way your son and Kabir in the book speak…:)..:)

    cheers

    Thank you!

    Like

  2. Rishi says:

    Hi Kiran,
    I’m a long time reader of your blog. I ordered the book as soon as you blogged about it. Looking forward to read it this weekend.

    Congrats for the release!

    Cheers,
    Rishi

    Thank you!

    Like

  3. Sujatha says:

    Congratulations Kiran… I am a regular on your blog for nearly 4 years !!! I so love your sense of humor….can’t wait to read it. where can I get it in USA?

    Hey Sujatha, sorry for the very late reply but the book is on Amazon.

    Like

  4. Rishi says:

    Congrats Kiran. I just finished reading your book. Quite an entertaining read! I like the way you frame and twist your sentences. Case in point:
    “I felt like an animal in a cage, if animals in cage could wear brown velvet track pants and matching hoodies over a lycra vest”
    “This was before I discovered Avomine, a wonder drug that not only ensures that the child snores throughout the trip, but also stays puke-free. I pack lighter since.
    For the child, that is”

    The book felt like extension of your blog, with same humour. Even the characters you’ve sketched – Kay, Hubby, Kid reads familiar!
    BTW, you didnt tell what happened with Smoky Velvet Jacket finally? 😉

    Ah nothing can happen with Velvet Jacket. He had perfectly coloured hair remember. He is clearly on the other side.

    Like

  5. Rishi says:

    And ya, those chapter titles – la FRIENDS style?

    Friends style? I dont know. Didn’t think of Friends when I wrote them, its how I’ve always been titling my blog posts too.

    Like

  6. Childwoman says:

    Congratulations for the book!!!!! You know something Madame K, you are simply awesome. And I do say this with lot of spellbound awe for you. You inspire. More and more power to you. I wish some day I will have the chance to meet you and soak in your awesomeness!

    Respect! \m/ 🙂

    LOL. Come meet anytime. And nothing to be inspired by. Just doing what I need to do to be happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

