Wardrobe crisis moment….

…so what is new about that, you might ask, kind reader, knowing well, if you read me relatively regularly, that wardrobe crisis moments dot my everyday existence the way said potholes dot the surface of out Mumbai roads, and with greater frequency than said potholes.
But this is different. This is a Serious Wardrobe Crisis Moment. On a Richter Scale of Wardrobe Crisis Moments, this would rank with the Tsunami inducing kinds, which not just has Mother Earth do the shimmy but also leave up miles of flotsam and jetsam in its wake.
The book, dear reader is out.
And ergo, I must be out and about. No longer can I hide in my garret, typing away furiously, dressed in ratty PJs and Tshirt of a vintage so ancient that it probably was woven in the mills when I was a zygote in utero.
Yesterday, all the contents of the wardrobe were taken out and thrown on the bed and a hopping, stamping, smoke bellowing out of my nostrils kind of tantrum ensued. I Have No Clothes, I yelled, loudly. The spouse raised one weary eye from the book he was reading and looked pointedly at a suitcase stored over the wardrobe, and at the lower shelves of his wardrobe which are infested with clothing owned by yours truly.
“No, no,” I sputtered in a self sustaining fury, “I have clothes. But I don’t have clothes, you know.”
He didn’t, apparently. Because he went right back to the book he was reading without really showing any beating of chest, howling and tearing hair out in solidarity. Or maybe he was cleverly steering clear of the conversation given that we have a good clear view of Inorbit on a bright day from our bedroom and said Inorbit has the Sale sign plastered all over its exterior.
“I have no clothes worthy for launches,” I said woebegone, rage spent, and clothes heaped on the bed.
Of my wardrobe, 99 per cent colour comprises black. Black tops in various colours. And these black tops are combined with denims. Various denims. Light denims, dark denims, black denims. But that is my wardrobe. It seemed nice and practical when Albert Einstein spoke about how he had many black suits in the same style because it saved him time when deciding what to wear, but I’m not sure if a series of goth like appearances would make for pleasant viewing on my book wall on fb.
Ergo. Plan has been made to raid the stores. To figure out what will look nice on me and not make people run shrieking towards exits, or advance towards me bearing little grey tails they want to pin to my behind. I must just, of course, remember not to buy any more of black.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wardrobe crisis moment….

  1. moi says:

    hahahaha this’s so funny..that we can just hoard and hoard and hoard as much clothes as we can and then when the day comes we don’t have clothes..that’s strange..ain’t it? this has happened to me too soooooo many times..but I’ve made a resolution for 2012 that I won’t buy cosmetics for another 2 years..no lipstick no eyeshadow no rouge no powder no nothing..and then I’ve also told myself that I’ll not buy any clothes unnecessarily till the end of this year and I’ll try to wear whatever I’ve hoarded..I know I know that they are not in anymore and I won’t look trendy or whatever they call it but be it so..no clothes till end of 2012 Insha’Allah and then January 2013 if I’ll still be alive Insha’Allah I’ll go and buy clothes shoes and even a new purse without feeling guilty..but now the big question is will I be able not to break the resolution I’ve made for 2012? Wish me luck lady I would recommend you too to wear all those that you’ve hoarded over the years πŸ™‚
    hugs

    I will, I so will.

    Like

  2. Pepper says:

    The colour black is classic. I think most of us love and hoard it. Sure you can raid the stores, but more often than not, I end up liking clothes, again, in the colour black. There’s a good chance that could happen to you too πŸ˜€

    Maybe you can consider wearing black for all your public appearances. For all you know, that could go on to become your “signature style”. It would add some character to you. You know, like how Simi Grewal is known to don white most of the times and yet considered to be the picture of elegance? Maybe Kiran Manral will be known for black one day and will considered a classic beauty ? πŸ˜€

    The spouse has threatened to disown me if I wear any more black. Ergo. I must look for colour. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

