Of hair and make up and getting prettified…

Yesterday I had the most lovely event at the Zoya by Tanishq store at Breach Candy and more on that later. But the panic began when I realised that I was the one on display. The previous event, with the prettiest two ladies in the same frame as me, convinced me that I needed to yes, take a good hard look at self and ensure that I looked presentable at least for the photographs taken for posterity, etc.

So. I decided. I needed help. Professional help. While I had been taking time out to get my hair done for some events, given my peripatetic life, some events got lucky and had me in silken glory others had Birds Nest Manral reigning over the do, and yesterday I decided that I would not be the Bride Of Frankensteing with Bellatrix Lestrange’s hairdo and got myself an appointment at the Lakme Salon.

Honest confession, I am normally terrified of salons and placing myself at the mercy of the good people who populate them because I hate the unwanted advice they immediately start dishing out, automatically making one feel like an unkempt hilly billy from the boondocks who isn’t fit to make a public appearance anywhere without having small children chase her throwing stones.

So there I was, shaking and shivering in my boots as a tiny dynamo called Noori Gazi took me under her wing, metaphorically speaking of course since she would need quite a wing span to get someone of my circumference under it, and began the arduous task of making me presentable.

The hair was washed and towelled dry. It was dried to almost bone dry levels and then a heat protect spray was deployed before the iron hit them strands. Within two shakes of a duck’s tail, I was smoother, more gracious and presentable. What I liked was that Noori insisted that I learn how to do it myself so I could do my hair at home if the occasion warranted well behaved hair. I got some hair advice, and instructions to get a hair spa done given that the hair definitely needed some TLC.

The make up was done. Subtle, I wasn’t looking for in your face smoky eyed siren look. Light eyeliner, mascara ( I confess, I have never used mascara, have never figured out how to apply it, have never had the patience for it, so it comes quite as a revelation to see how the eyes get opened up with just a wee bit of it. Some orangey brown on the cheeks (not my usual pink, mind you, which was quite disconcertening, because I’d always though of self as a pink cheeked one) and light pale pink on the lips and I was done. It was a different look. I’m normally the one with the pink cheeks and the red lips. This was subtle, not in your face, but nice and did take some getting used to. The word I had in mind was restrained. I’d like to add Chic to the restrained but I’ll leave that for other folks to say.

All said and done, the step by step tutorial Noori gave me has been amazingly helpful and I might try it out on self for my event today. And hope I dont end up looking like I slapped it on with a spade. Wish me luck.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Of hair and make up and getting prettified…

  1. nmaha says:

    I feel exactly the same at a saloon, even though I know most of them are trying to upsell (as part of their job) and it’s not personal. Hats off to you if you learn to do a saloon trick at home. Maybe I can come for a few lessons.

    Like

  2. inmyhumbleopinion says:

    I just hate salons – they make me feel like a country cousin of the sweeper! And I end up buying loads of stuff which I donot require!

    Anyways, you’re looking super!

    Like

  3. Khan Mukhtar says:

    You have the natural make up of mind and Noori,s or the specialized treatments of Lakme can hardly make any difference. The attitude and the makeup of humanity is the best of all potions and lotions. Lot of luck for the event. God bless u.
    @MaribMariya(tweeter)

    Like

  4. Nilu says:

    Stumbled upon your blog this morning. Spent an entire day reading your blog posts. Never was my time better spent. From book reviews to hair trouble to a mother’s strength to a lost father’s love, every post made it mark!

    Kudos to you! Can’t wait to read your book!

    Love your picture and yes, your hair too.

    Like

  5. Pepper says:

    Chick, I say!

    Like

  6. Nidhi says:

    You look great!!!! Now that you have admitted to realizing you need a wee bit of help…can I dare give you some friendly advice on one of your prev events? Please take it as constructive criticism since I do not have any other motive except to see one of my favorite bloggers well dressed. The ruffled top you wore to the event with Parul and Tisca does great injustice to you…like this – http://www.highheelconfidential.com/ayesha-takia-at-the-launch-of-mod-film/
    I think it plays up your errm…chest too much.
    Ok I will scoot before you throw shoes on me!
    – A long time reader of your blog (forgiven?)

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      Of course, well meaning advice is always welcome and I shall take such advice gladly. Will refrain from chest ruffles in the future.

      Like

Leave a Reply

