Been a while since I posted here…

…forgive me because I am trying to write a book which is draining me out and not in a good way. It is the kind of writing I never thought I would do, when the characters have a life of their own and all I am doing is recording it, trying hard to stay true to the meandering paths of their lives, watching on as they live, they laugh, they cry, have their hearts broken, get bereaved, battle demons. For the first time I am also writing without a plot synposis. This has been very scary for me. When I started out, I happily put down Chapter 1 to Chapter 15 as an indicator of how far I thought I would go with this book. I am now on Chapter 17 and not even midway through this story. And it is a book I haven’t pitched yet to my publishers. It is intent, secretive, writing that I am holding close to my heart, it sucks my soul out.
And having wrung me out so much, it leaves me with nothing to say here. And that is rather unfair on you, dear reader. So bear with me. Know that I flagellate myself with the guilt for not posting here regularly, that I come into the office every morning, bright eyes and bushy tailed and thinking, today, yes, today, will be the day when I will ensure that post something, anything on the blog before all my readers desert me in disgust and rush off to other blogs which have writers who take their blogging seriously and don’t disappear into self dig caves to do pretentious things like write books, and such like.
Also, I have shifted house again. The reasons for which are long and complicated and tedious and I donot wish you to bore you to tears, but the fact remains that it was decided at 8 am that we would move house and by 7.30 pm that evening, we had moved house. Yes, the house had been looked at and okayed and such like a week ago, but the to move or not to move and if yes, then when to move had been dithering and dathering around for a bit, before the spouse, god bless his optimism and his can do it attitude, just bit the proverbial bullet and said, we’re moving today. Carpenters were called to dismantle all the fixed furniture, electricians called to unwire all the appliances, loaders called to take the stuff to the other house which thankfully is within the same complex, just a couple of buildings away (which, to be honest, allowed for a lot of back and forth) and every bedsheet pressed into service to tie stuff up into huge bundles to carry across.
I also learnt something in this shifting that I had not realised earlier. That I did not care about my clothes or my shoes, as much I cared about my books being all transported intact. Also that I have too much crockery which is barely used given that we barely have people over. And that I have finally broken one cup of a gold leaf embossed Noritake set with my own hands and have no one I can yell at except myself for it. The guilt will haunt me till my dying day. Thankfully the crystal survived the shifting undamaged or I would have needed to take a butter knife to my wrists. The work that goes into shifting house is not something that lesser mortals like me can think off without a shudder going up one’s spine. But I’m proud to say the house was in working order within twenty four hours as was the kitchen.
It has been a hectic week. Hopefully, things will be a little settled now. And better. And I promise to come back sooner than I have. Hopefully with something interesting to say. Don’t go anywhere, okay.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Been a while since I posted here…

  1. Pepper says:

    Won’t go anywhere ofcourse. I am right here. Waiting for your updates, like always 🙂

    Like

  2. ittakestime says:

    Here here, not going anywhere – your faithful reader !!
    Wohhaaa 24 hrs and house back in order , kudos to you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

