So I got reading glasses….

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you would know that I have been a girl who wears glasses for all my childhood and most of my adult life, and no Ms Parker, I hoped you were wrong, but you were so right. Nonetheless, contact lenses saved my life and got the good spouse to stare deeply into mine eyes and pop the question. Anyway, you get my drift. I spent the rest of my life keeping my glasses close at hand and my contact lenses closer, until I finally decided to go in for the Lasik surgery. You must understand that I am naturally very squeamish about the eye. This comes from years of having semi soft lenses drifting off to various parts of the cornea and needing to be fished out by whichever opthalmologist I can find open. Anyway, to cut a long story short, the LASIK surgery happened, the glasses were discarded and I experienced for the first time in my life, the pleasures of waking up in the morning and not needing to bat my hand by the bedside table to locate my spectacles in order to check what time it was on the wall clock.
And then a few years passed in the bliss of perfect vision being able to spot a coin at twenty paces and such like, until one noticed a criminal conspiracy with the world at large to get letters on cartons and packaging printed in bacteria height letters so one ended up asking the store staff to hold it at the end of the aisle for me to be able to read off it. Then the other day, I acknowledged to myself that perhaps, I might need to get them eyes checked and trotted off with the spouse to the opthamologist next door and confronted the sad fact that yes, I was now a senior citizen who needed reading glasses. The reading glasses have been procured. I’m doing the disgusting senior citizen thing of peering at people from the top of the glasses, with them perched midway on my nose, have already misplaced them one gadzillion times. I might as well just order my ebony carved walking stick while I’m at it and place my bulk order for adult diapers. The blessing though now is that I no longer need to jab at a restaurant menu and say I’ll have this and hope I haven’t ordered the “We accept all credit cards.” You know.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So I got reading glasses….

  1. Divs says:

    Oh…don’t they have LASIK to cover both – near and farsightedness? This is news to me and I can already see my own future 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

