Mumbai was 12 degrees yesterday….

…bring down the woollies from the loft, wrap the mufflers round them throats, pull the monkey caps on, this is as cold to a decent winter as we will get. In delight, I have even pulled out them boots from storage and buffed and polished them in anticipation of wearing them through the next few days, if our luck with the cool breezes holds. In fact, I have swaddled self in lovely beige sweater and am kidding meself am in the Swiss Alps.
Seriously though, I have zero tolerance for the cold. Having being born and brought up in Mumbai and having lived out all my life here, I haven’t dealt with the chill except for short vacations to hill stations. Last year I visited Delhi in Feb and shamed myself by visiting a friend for dinner and sitting in her living room wrapped up as much as the chowkidar at the gate, with muffler, with sweater, with thermals, with shawl on top of it all. We visited Binsar in May, I ended up wearing all the clothes I had carried along with me, and then refused to leave the room without a blanket wrapped around me. All them fat deposits I told myself would provide me insulation in case of an Ice Age coming on us in an instant obviously are derelict in performing their duty.
Also, I love layering. Putting on layers and layers at the end of which one ends up looking like the kind of round contraption that gets kicked around from one end of the field to another, is something one doesn’t get to do in a coastal city like Mumbai where the temperature fluctuation is at the max from FryEggOnForehead to DontForgetTheFluidsOrRiskDehydration. In fact, I have always had a fascination for turtlenecks, and have insisted on wearing them in Mumbai temperatures, regardless of onlookers who collapse with heatstroke on spotting me.
We have our winter on right now. Its a pleasant 12 degrees minimum and 24 degrees maximum. I have a sweater and fabulous blue boots on. What? What? What? Indulge me. I might just pull on a knitted cap to get the effect right.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mumbai was 12 degrees yesterday….

  1. Khan Mukhtar says:

    We have -16 degrees at many places and my area is freezing at -3 degrees. My muffler monkey cap gloves and woolen pants are my companions eve on my jogging tracks

    Like

  2. Lucky souls in Bombay..it’s so cold out here in Hyderabad that we started thinking beyond regular fans 😦

    Like

  3. Gigi says:

    Ah but winter is the season where you can look very put together!

    Like

  4. Ruchira says:

    2 degrees ! But Kiran that no cold .. that’s pleasantly warm πŸ˜› Come to Delhi and we will show you what winter is πŸ˜›

    Like

Leave a Reply

