Whatever happened to me blogging?

This post is triggered from a question asked by dear friend, author and blogger Y to us and Yashodhara Lal to the world, as to why most of us have stopped blogging, and do we even read blogs anymore. I, in my typical trigger happy manner, replied that blogging bores me now and I have nothing to say anymore. True to form, I chewed on the cud over a couple of nights and realised, that no, it was not blogging that bored me, it was what blogging has now morphed into that bores me.

When we began blogging, back in the early 2000s (2005 specifically for me) blogging was fun. You wrote from the heart, to connect, and you quickly formed a close circle of folk who read, wrote in, commented and wonderfully enough, many of them went on to become dear offline friends. In fact, so close am I to some of the friends I made via Karmickids that I call them my sisterhood, albeit now, we all rarely blog. We connect through email, phone calls, messaging, whatsapp and facebook. Even twitter, which they say ate up blogging, and has burped happily since. What did happen with blogging, how did it change?

For me, blogging was always the personal–thirtysixandcounting (disclaimer this should now rightfully be fortytwoandcounting and god knows I’ve given up trying to figure out how to change it) and Karmickids were always about me. People read the blogs, people got a slice of my life. I wrote a book. I went onto twitter. Things changed a bit. I became closely acquainted with that terrible internet entity, the troll. I became more guarded about myself, I stopped putting out so much about myself online. I began getting folks come up to me in public places and introduce themselves, and behave like they were buddies from back when we were in diapers. That kind of unnerved me. The boy grew up, I have other battles with him everyday. Or perhaps, I grew up. And realised while I still do have a lot to say, not all of it is for the public consumption. Paradoxically, for all that I am in my everyday on social media, I am a very very private and reserved person and anyone who meets me will realise instantly that if they manage to get two coherent words out of me, without me diving behind the nearest pillar or ducking under the first available table

Then there was the infiltration of the brands. While I have been happy to do the occasional cosmetic brand review, I realise that things have got a trifle commercial out there. While to each their own and such like, I realise that for some, blogging has become a business venture and one they’re doing rather well at too. They take their blogging very very seriously, know their page hits and follower counts and repeat visitors and all such intimidating statistics that if I ever bothered about, I might have actually done the decent thing and stayed employed, rather than have spent my life lotus eating.

Why don’t I blog anymore? Could it be that blogging is not the immediate medium that twitter is which adds to twitter’s fascination. Maybe twitter allows me to go to it in microbites through the day while blogging mandates that I take out a substantial chunk of my time. Twitter is also a very fluid medium, it constantly updates itself on things that are happening, there is a symbiotic relationship between the tweets one reads and the interaction that adds to its charm. Blogging has become, in a sense, the ivory tower version of social media. We don’t read blogs anymore, we don’t comment on blogs anymore, we rarely even visit other blogs. Having said that, blogs which are celebrity news based, fashion and food based have taken off over the past few years. That is the space to watch in blogging over the next few years. As for me, I’ll be wandering around aimlessly over social media, grabbing any hapless soul who chances to wander past and regale them with tales of when I used to blog until their eyes glaze and they keel over. Or perhaps I can try and blog again.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Whatever happened to me blogging?

  1. Sri says:

    Hmmm..i guess FB and Twitter are major reasons for people blogging less…

    LOL on people getting too friendly with you..maybe I would do it too if I saw you somewhere!!

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    I can tell you why I blog less frequently. Back when I blogged the most I was frequently on my own, often lonely. Now I have people to talk to, so I rarely write down my thoughts. It’s not the same though and I do miss the blogging.

    Like

  3. Aathira says:

    I do try to blog … and I do enjoy writing down my thoughts more than speaking. Makes me sit and think. Maybe also because I am not too much of a twitter person.

    I certainly do hope you decide to blog more 🙂 Enjoy reading your writing.

    Like

  4. Childwoman says:

    I still want to blog, I come here everyday, hover over the blog and leave without writing anything. Its just not there anymore, its like the will to write has gone. I really miss that warm circle of people who wrote regularly and commented on the posts. I should get back to writing and reading others. I am going to try.

    Like

  5. Khan Mukhtar says:

    I also used to blog but now engagements have taken such a shape that I hardly do it but in the contrary my twitter is abuze and I often vent my feelings in FB but one thing is a sure short bloging is a royal choice and we need active audience to make it flourish otherwise blogs of late have lost sheen .

    Like

  6. I started blogging regularly only a few years ago and maybe its the novelty of the medium that still has me at it! I too have made close friends via blogs, I visit and get visited, I read and I find twitter way too much work! So maybe its a stage-in-life thing? I enjoy your writing though, so please do keep blogging 🙂

    Like

  7. dipikasingh says:

    same here 😦 i didn’t blog all of 2013 and am making some lame attempts to restart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

