In my determination to continue blogging….

…I’m trying to post something, anything, every day. Today, I come to the blog with a blank mind, emptied out by the necessity of waking up at the crack of pre dawn, packing snack boxes and lunch boxes, doing the school drop and such. For someone like me who is by nature an owl, this is painful, the level of pull one’s teeth out with the toothbox pliers and no anaesthesia painful. I have always been an owl and the spouse a lark. This has led to much snapping at each other, but over the years we have learnt to ‘adjust’ as they say. Which means that I have reconciled myself to the fact that we will never be the couple raising hell at parties that go on till the milkman begins making his rounds, and that the spouse will turn off the lights and pull the blanket over himself at an hour when regular families are still clanking their cutlery on the crockery and downing the vital nutrients. On the flip, he will be awake and alert and doing his morning calisthenics at four am, an hour at which I’m still battling monsters in my dreams, and heaven help the unfortunate soul that dares drag me into the land of the wakeful from such excitement. The child seems to have taken after his father, he sleeps like a bird. This trait manifested itself in his infancy where his lack of sleep had converted me into a zombie, with bloodshot eyes, bags you could pack for a vacation under my eyes and tremors from sleep deprivation making people look at me suspiciously when I took myself into the public at large. Thankfully, he now gets tired enough from his swimming and workouts to hit the pillow snoring gently, and life is kinder to me. But yes, the early morning waking does get to me. I try to make up by catching up on my sleep where I can, but sleeping face down in a dinner plate at a restaurant with friends at lunch does not really cut it. The only solution, I thought, would be to slowly and painfully, to convert myself into a lark. Perhaps if I change my sleep timings to match that of the spouse and offspring, I would be in a better, more functional place. The first day, I tossed and turned till 11 pm, counting sheep, worries and imaginary ghouls in the shadows. I woke up even more exhausted that I would be after turning in at midnight having read through the end of whatever reading matter was currently occupying my mind. The next day was better, and now I’m regularly clocking in a nine hour sleep schedule simply by turning in early most days. I don’t know how long I’m going to be able to keep up this schedule without reverting to mine old owlish ways, but till it continues, I’m not complaining. I’m so done with channelling zombie chic.

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In my determination to continue blogging….

  1. Sri says:

    Hehehe…i am a lot like you..i am a night owl and hate waking up early!

    My hubby also sleeps by 10pm and is up by 5am!

    Like

Leave a Reply

