Hee’s a little something I wrote for CNN IBN Live…

I still remember, with a deep wrench in the heart, the exact moment when the boy, all of a strapping four years back then and with an opinion all his own, declared firmly that he was not going to put his arms into a particular jacket because ‘It has a Minnie Mouse onnit!’

I could have taken myself into the bathroom, locked the door and sobbed my heart out. Instead I tried the cold, calm voice of reason. ‘Son,’ I told him, ‘It also has a Mickey Mouse with the Minnie Mouse.’

He jutted out his lower lip petulantly, fixed me with the glittering eye of the Ancient Mariner and dug his heels in. “Never mind Mickey Mouse. It has a Minnie Mouse. Everyone will laffatme.”

Read the entire post here:

About Kiran Manral

Author of The Face At The Window, ( 2016), Karmic Kids, All Aboard (2015) , Once Upon A Crush (2014) and The Reluctant Detective (2011).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hee’s a little something I wrote for CNN IBN Live…

  1. mommybegins says:

    I am too walking a tight rope of bringing up a 14-month old boi without falling into the gender marketing ploy weaved by retail giants. Wonder what will happen by the time he makes it to school

    Like

  2. GG says:

    I’m reading this after reading a thread on how a 9 year old was bullied for bringing a My Little Pony bagpack to school. No wonder your child was adamant. The pressure to conform and fit in is so high in school. Sigh..

    http://www.slate.com/articles/life/family/2014/03/grayson_bruce_was_bullied_for_his_my_little_pony_backpack_no_wonder_my_son.html

    Like

    • Kiran Manral says:

      It totally is, and what is sad is that generation on generation it stays the same, and new things get added to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

